32c David Farragut stamp

United States Postal Service1995-06-29

Smithsonian's National Postal Museum

Smithsonian's National Postal Museum

The Postal Service issued a 20 stamp sheet of 32-cent Civil War stamps on June 29, 1995 in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. Designed by Mark Hess of Katonah, New York, the stamps are the second installment of the Classic Collection.

Featured in the issue are: the USS Monitor and CSS Virginia, Robert E. Lee, Clara Barton, Ulysses S. Grant, the Battle of Shiloh, Jefferson Davis, David Farragut, Frederick Douglass, Raphael Semmes, Abraham Lincoln, Harriet Tubman, Stand Watie, Joseph E. Johnston, Winfield Hancock, Mary Chesnut, the Battle of Chancellorsville, William T. Sherman, Phoebe Pember, "Stonewall" Jackson, and the Battle of Gettysburg. An explanatory text is on the back of each stamp. Stamp Venturers, Inc. printed the stamps in the gravure process.

Reference: Postal Bulletin (June 8, 1995)

Scott Catalogue USA: 2975g

Copyright United States Postal Service. All rights reserved.

Museum ID: 1996.2081.197.7

Show lessRead more


  • Title: 32c David Farragut stamp
  • Creator: United States Postal Service
  • Date Created: 1995-06-29
  • Subject Keywords: David Farragut, stamp
  • Medium: paper; ink (multicolored) / photogravure


Translate with Google