Loading

A climbing kiln of Tōei-yō

1887

Art Research Center, Ritsumeikan University

Art Research Center, Ritsumeikan University

This noborigama (climbing kiln) called Tōei-yō was built in 1887. An eight-chamber renbōshiki noborigama (multi-chambered climbing kiln), its overall length is 22m and its greatest width is 9.6m. According to documentation of 1912, Tokonome’s noborigama at that time numbered approximately sixty, but today this is the only noborigama of its time that remains in its entirety. Not only is the kiln’s main section preserved, but its adjoining ceramics workshop is as well, making it a venerated historic site.

Show lessRead more

Details

Recommended

Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile