Meeson and Johnson were the associate architects for Kelk & Lucas Brothers, the contractors of the building, and were responsible for the design of the original exhibition building which was destroyed by fire just sixteen days after its opening in 1873. The replacement building reopened in 1875 and was essentially a reconstruction of the original executed by Johnson. The park was laid out by the garden architect, Alexander McKenzie.


  • Title: Alexandra Palace Park, London
  • Creator: Photographer: Horatio Nelson King (1830-1905), Architects: John Johnson (1807-1878); Alexander McKenzie (1829-1893); Alfred Meeson (1808-1885)
  • Date Created: 1875
  • Location Created: London, UK
  • Rights: RIBA Collections
  • Medium: Photoprint

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more


Google apps