Building where Prof. Röntgen discovered the X-rays.

Röntgenkuratorium Würzburg e.V.1009-07-26


Würzburg, Germany

In 1879, the Physics Institute moved to the Pleicherring (today Röntgenring) under Prof. Friedrich Kohlrausch. In 1888 Prof. Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen took over the position as director from Kohlrausch. During the bombing on 16 March 1945, in which 90% of the buildings in Würzburg were destroyed, the Physical Institute was spared. In 1977, physics moved to the new Campus Hubland and the University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt moved into the building.


  • Title: Building where Prof. Röntgen discovered the X-rays.
  • Creator: Röntgenkuratorium Würzburg e.V.
  • Date Created: 1009-07-26
  • Type: photo
  • Original Source: unknown
  • Rights: Röntgenkuratorium Würzburg e.V.

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps