I Ching 64 Hexagrams Sequence(地天泰)

Lee Ungno1974

Lee Ungno Museum

Lee Ungno Museum
Daejeon, South Korea

I Ching 64 Hexagrams Sequence is a series made in 1974 by Lee Ungno as he resumed his career in Paris, following his release from prison in Korea for his involvement in the East Berlin Affair in 1967. Born to a Confucian family, he studied Chinese classics when he was young, and he was therefore familiar with the I Ching, which explores the patterns of change inherent in nature and in human life. In content, Ungno expressed the I Ching’s primary emphasis on balance and harmony in patterns of change, while in form he referred to traditional calligraphy and visualized the meaning of each hexagram in the continuation of his Abstract Letter series. This work describes the 11th hexagram, 地天泰(ji-cheon-tai) whose ultimate meaning is ‘peacefulness’ acquired through the harmony between earth and heaven. Ungno rendered this lucky hexagram in a small group of human-like forms unfolding their arms, making a circle, embracing and dancing together.


  • Title: I Ching 64 Hexagrams Sequence(地天泰)
  • Creator: Lee Ungno
  • Date Created: 1974
  • Location: Lee Ungno Museum
  • Physical Dimensions: 33x24cm
  • Medium: Ink on Korean paper

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps