Loading

Interior of the Burnt-Out Barfüsserkirche, Looking West, during Reconstruction, 1681

Johann Andreas Graff1681

The City of Nuremberg's Art Collections, Nuremberg Municipal Museums

The City of Nuremberg's Art Collections, Nuremberg Municipal Museums
Nuremberg, Germany

The Franciscans, also known as "barefoot" monks ("Barfüsser"), had their own monastery, with an early Gothic church consecrated in 1278, along the Pegnitz at the site of today's Museumsbrücke bridge (known at the time as the "Barfüsser" bridge). The Franciscans lost possession of the site in 1529, when the monastery was closed by the Reformation, after which the complex saw various secular uses (as a girls' and boys' orphanage, and as a women's prison from 1671 onwards).

Details

  • Title: Interior of the Burnt-Out Barfüsserkirche, Looking West, during Reconstruction, 1681
  • Creator: Johann Andreas Graff
  • Date Created: 1681
  • Location: Nuremberg
  • Type: Graphic
  • Medium: etching

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps