Jean Sibelius White marble bust

Wäinö Aaltonen1939

Gothenburg Symphony

Gothenburg Symphony
Gothenburg, Sweden

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) is considered to be one of Finland’s foremost composers. Sibelius composed seven symphonies and several orchestral works. Among his most famous works are “Finlandia”, “The Karelia Suite” and “Valse triste”. He visited Göteborgs orkesterförening (the Gothenburg Orchestra Society) as a conductor during the period that his friend Wilhelm Stenhammar was in charge of the orchestra.


  • Title: Jean Sibelius White marble bust
  • Creator: Wäinö Aaltonen
  • Date Created: 1939
  • Location: The Concert Hall, Götaplatsen, Gothenburg
  • Physical Dimensions: 48 x 32 x 27 cm
  • Medium: marble bust

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more


Google apps