Loading

Lyon St-Just St-Irénée, Ancien Monastère de la Visitation

Historical-Cities.org

Historical Cities

Historical Cities

The Sisters of the Order of the Visitation, created in 1610 by François de Sales, moved to Lyon in 1615. They acquired their plot of land in 1850 from the Carmelite community and chose the architect Pierre Bossan for the convent. The buildings’ foundations were laid in 1854; the community moved in in 1856 although the buildings were not completed until two years later. The site is now part of a beautiful realization that keeps the building and integrates the Fourviere Hotel.

Details

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps