Military Kitchen

Archive PE "Belgrade Fortress" and Photographer: Dušan Stojancevicsecond half of the 18th century

Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Serbia

Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia

It is located between the gate of Carlo IV and Nebojsa Tower. It leans against the remains of northeastern rampart of the Lower Town. It was built in the second half of the eighteenth century and it is made of stones and bricks. Upon the siege of the Tower, Karadjordjevic’s insurgents used this building as a cannon foundry since 1807. After 1813 the Turks turned it into a military kitchen after adding on tall chimneys. After they surrendered the towns to the Serbs in 1867, Serbian army moved into the building. The building was in a very poor shape until 1964 when conservatory works began. The building is currently used by the Scientific Research Centre of the Belgrade Fortress


  • Title: Military Kitchen
  • Creator: Archive PE "Belgrade Fortress", Photographer: Dušan Stojancevic
  • Date Created: second half of the 18th century
  • Location Created: Belgrade, Lower Town
  • Type: Photograf

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app


Google apps