Loading

Parchment fragment from the Cotton Genesis with Abraham

The British Library400/600

British Museum

British Museum

This miniature from a luxury illustrated copy of Genesis, once belonging to the collection of Sir Robert Cotton (d. 1631), depicts Abraham standing before 3 angels (2 preserved) who appear to him as men by the oak of Mamre and are waited on by him (Genesis 18:2). The illustrations are in the tradition of Hellenistic and Roman painting. The sumptuous quality
 of the volume, despite its near-destruction by fire in 1731, provides valuable evidence for the high quality of Late Antique book production.

Show lessRead more

Details

  • Title: Parchment fragment from the Cotton Genesis with Abraham
  • Creator: The British Library
  • Date Created: 400/600
  • Location: Alexandria, Egypt
  • Physical Dimensions: 27.3 x 22.2 cm
  • Material: parchment
  • Copyright: The British Library Board

Recommended

Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile