Loading

Pinxton Wharf and Colliery

Unknown1925

Derbyshire Record Office

Derbyshire Record Office
Matlock, United Kingdom

Coal has been mined on a small scale in Pinxton, but mining on a larger scale wasn't possible until the Reverend D'Ewes Coke established a colliery company known as the Pinxton Collieries in 1788. This was helped by the arrival of the Pinxton branch of the Cromford Canal arrived in the 1790s, meaning it was easier to transport the coal produced. The canal was slowly replaced after the arrival of the Mansfield to Pinxton Railroad in 1819, which was more like a tramway initially. This was replaced with a steam railroad in 1847.

Pinxton Colliery had six shafts, two of which are shown in this image. The coal worked before 1844 was close to the surface as technology couldn't reach deeper coal deposits. The colliery remained open until nationalisation in 1947, when efforts were centralised at nearby Brookhill Colliery. An industrial estate is now on the site of the former colliery.

Details

  • Title: Pinxton Wharf and Colliery
  • Creator: Unknown
  • Date Created: 1925
  • Location Created: Pinxton, Nottinghamshire, England
  • Provenance: Local Studies Photograph Collection (DCHQ000339)
  • Subject Keywords: Industry, Coal, Coal Mining, Colliery, Mining, Canal, Employment

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps