Prime Minister’s Desk (1927-1972)

Federal Capital Commission Architects Departmentcirca 1927

Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House

Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House

This desk was designed in 1926 by the Federal Capital Commission Architects Department, led by principal architect John Smith Murdoch, for Provisional Parliament House. It was used by all of the Prime Ministers from Stanley Bruce in 1927 to Gough Whitlam in 1972. In 1972 the desk was put into storage when the Prime Minister’s suite was renovated and new modern furniture, including a new desk for the Prime Minister, was purchased to complement these rooms. Made from Queensland maple.

Show lessRead more


  • Title: Prime Minister’s Desk (1927-1972)
  • Creator: Federal Capital Commission Architects Department
  • Date: circa 1927
  • View on MoAD website: See Collection record
  • Medium: Queensland maple; timber; metal
  • Dimensions: 1970 (w) x 785 (h) x 1200 (d) mm