Photo: Joris-Jan Bos

Choreographer: Örjan Andersson

'Quartet # 10' is the second ballet that Örjan Andersson made for NDT 1. The ballet has a slow and heavy mood that’s being amplified by the movement idiom. The bodies are close to the ground, sometimes they seem to melt into the floor. However, once the violin builds up, a powerful force seems to awaken in the dancers, forming a powerful group.


  • Title: Quartet # 10
  • Date Created: 2003
  • Rights: © Joris-Jan Bos Photography
  • Choreographer: Örjan Andersson
  • Music: Dmitri Shostakovich – Symphony for strings, Opus 118 string quartet nr.10 arranged for string orchestra by Rudolf Barschai
  • Light: Erik Berglund
  • Decor: Henk Palmers, Örjan Andersson
  • Costumes: Joke Visser, Örjan Andersson
  • World Premiere: April 17, 2003, Lucent Danstheater, The Hague

Additional Items

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more


Google apps