The images of seven prelates of the Orthodox Church represent four patriarchal polities of Jerusalem, Constantinople, Antioch and Alexandria. In the center there portrayed the brother of the Lord – Saint Jacob the Apostle, to the right- Saints John Chrysostom, Gregory the Theologian, Basil the Great, to the left – Ignatius of Antioch, Athanasius and Cyril of Alexandria. Above them in seven medallions the emblems of the Saints are depicted. The triangle, consisting of three archpastoral rods – symbolizes Trinity as a Celestial Church and four rods make letter “M” - the first letter in the name of Holy Mother, which symbolizes the Church.


  • Title: Seven prelates
  • Creator: Unknown
  • Date Created: 18th c.
  • Type: icon

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more


Google apps