The Tipografia Grifani - Donati, born in 1799, is the only local historical company to be still active today. The project of establishing a Museum of Graphic Arts responds to the need of preservation of the prestigious tradition of typography and publishing, present in the city since the sixteenth century, and allows us to rediscover the ancient techniques of the art of printing. The Tipografia, located for more than two hundred years in the rooms above the former church of San Paolo (thirteenth century), owes its origin to printers Francesco Donati and Bartolomeo Carlucci who in 1799 left Assisi to open a shop in Città di Castello. In 1806 at the death of Carlucci, Donati remaining as unique master, continues the activity and introduces the Bodoni characters in the laboratories. At his death the management goes to his nephew Francesco Donati and from him to his grandson Grifani. We are in 1868.
The current owner is still a descendant of the Donati and he continues the family tradition on printing adding lithography to the typographical and calcographic production exclusively on stone, binding and restoration of antique books.