Franco-Dutch War

1672 - 1678

The 1672 to 1678 Franco-Dutch War, also known as the Dutch War, was fought primarily between France and the Dutch Republic, supported by the Holy Roman Empire, Spain, Brandenburg-Prussia and Denmark-Norway. French allies included Münster and Cologne until 1673, as well as England which left the conflict in 1674, then re-entered it in February 1678 on the side of the Dutch.
The war began in May 1672 when France nearly overran the Dutch Republic, an event still known as the Rampjaar or "Disaster Year". Their advance was halted by the IJssel Line in June and by late July the Dutch position had stabilised. Concern over French gains led to a formal alliance in August 1673 between the Dutch, Emperor Leopold I, Spain and Brandenburg-Prussia. They were joined by Lorraine and Denmark–Norway, while England made peace in February 1674. Now facing a war on multiple fronts, the French withdrew from the Dutch Republic, retaining only Grave and Maastricht.
Louis XIV refocused on the Spanish Netherlands and Rhineland, while the Allies led by William of Orange sought to limit French gains.
Show lessRead more

Discover this historical event

Google apps