The County of Brant is a single-tier municipality in the Canadian province of Ontario. Although it retains the word "county" in its name, counties the municipality only has one level of municipal government as opposed to an upper tier county with lower tier municipalities. The County of Brant has service offices in Burford, Paris, Oakland, Onondaga and St. George. The largest population centre is Paris.
The County of Brant is a predominantly rural municipality in Southern Ontario. The County is bordered by the township of North Dumfries in the Regional Municipality of Waterloo; the City of Hamilton; Haldimand County; Norfolk County; and the townships of Blandford-Blenheim and Norwich in Oxford County. The County abuts the provincially-mandated Greenbelt. Although the city of Brantford is surrounded by the County, it is a fully independent city with its own municipal government. The Brant census division, which includes Brantford and the Six Nations and New Credit reserves along with the County of Brant, had a population of 134,808 in the 2016 census.
The County is named after Joseph Brant.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

Google apps