Echigo Province

Echigo Province was an old province in north-central Japan, on the shores of the Sea of Japan. It bordered on Uzen, Iwashiro, Kōzuke, Shinano, and Etchū Provinces. It corresponds today to Niigata Prefecture, minus the island of Sado.
Its abbreviated form name was Esshū, with Echizen and Etchū Provinces. Under the Engishiki classification system, Echigo was ranked as one of the 35 "superior countries" in terms of importance, and one of the 30 "far countries" in terms of distance from the capital.
Echigo and Kōzuke Province were known as the Jōetsu region.
Show lessRead more
Google apps