Turner's House (Sandycombe Lodge)

Sandycombe Lodge is a Grade II* listed house at 40 Sandycoombe Road, Twickenham, in the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames. In the picturesque-cottage style, it was designed and built in 1813 by the artist J. M. W. Turner as his country retreat and as a home for his father William. Turner lived there from 1814 to 1826. Originally known as Solus Lodge, it is the only surviving building designed by Turner, and shows the influence of his friend Sir John Soane. The appearance of the house had been much altered by the addition of second floors to the original side wings.
When it was built, Twickenham was rural, as can be seen in the engraving Sandycombe Lodge, Twickenham, Villa of J. M. W. Turner that was engraved by W. B. Cooke after William Havell and is now held at Tate Britain.
Since the sale of Sandycombe Lodge in 1826 by Turner, it has had several owners. The house was used as a factory to producr airmen's uniforms during the Second World War. The vibrations from the heavy machinery caused damage to the staircase and ceilings of the house. The house was bought by Professor Harold Livermore and his wife in 1947, and they created the Sandycombe Lodge Trust in 2005.
Show lessRead more
Wikipedia

Discover this place

Google apps