Nine Lyric Poets

The Nine Lyric or Melic Poets were a canonical group of ancient Greek poets esteemed by the scholars of Hellenistic Alexandria as worthy of critical study. In the Palatine Anthology it is said that they established lyric song.
They were:
Alcman of Sparta
Sappho of Lesbos
Alcaeus of Mytilene
Anacreon of Teos
Stesichorus of Metauros
Ibycus of Rhegium
Simonides of Ceos
Bacchylides of Ceos
Pindar of Thebes
In most Greek sources the word melikos is used to refer to these poets, but the variant lyrikos became the regular form in both Latin and in modern languages. The ancient scholars defined the genre on the basis of the musical accompaniment, not the content. Thus, some types of poetry which would be included under the label "lyric poetry" in modern criticism, are excluded—namely, the elegy and iambus which were performed with flutes.
The Nine Lyric Poets are traditionally divided among those who primarily composed choral verses, and those who composed monodic verses. This division is contested by some modern scholars.
Antipater of Thessalonica proposes an alternative canon of nine female poets.
Show lessRead more
Google apps