Røros Municipality

Røros is a municipality in Trøndelag county, Norway. It is part of the Gauldalen region. The administrative centre of the municipality is the town of Røros. Some of the villages in Røros include Brekken, Glåmos, Feragen, Galåa, and Hitterdalen.
The mining town of Røros is sometimes called Bergstaden which means "mountain town" due to its historical notoriety for copper mining. It is one of two towns in Norway that were historically designated "mining towns", along with the "silver-town" of Kongsberg. The modern-day inhabitants of Røros still work and live in the characteristic 17th and 18th century buildings which have led to its designation as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1980. Røros has about 80 wooden houses, most of them standing around courtyards. Many retain their dark pitch-log facades, giving the town a medieval appearance.
The 1,956-square-kilometre municipality is the 39th largest by area out of the 356 municipalities in Norway. Røros is the 171st most populous municipality in Norway with a population of 5,581. The municipality's population density is 3.2 inhabitants per square kilometre and its population has increased by 0.8% over the previous 10-year period.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

15 items

Google apps