Weimar Republic

The Weimar Republic was the German state from 1918 to 1933, as it existed as a federal constitutional republic. The state was officially the German Reich, and was also referred to as the German Republic. The term "Weimar Republic" refers to the city of Weimar, where the republic's constituent assembly first took place. In English the country was usually simply called "Germany"; the term "Weimar Republic" did not become common in English until the 1930s.
After four years of hostilities in World War I from 1914 to 1918 with heavy losses, Germany was exhausted and sued for peace under desperate circumstances. Awareness of imminent defeat sparked revolution, the abdication of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Germany's surrender, and the proclamation of the Weimar Republic on 9 November 1918.
From 1918 to 1923, the Weimar Republic suffered grave problems, such as hyperinflation, political extremism, including political murders and two attempted power seizures by contending paramilitaries, as well as contentious relationships with the victors of the First World War. From 1924 to 1929, a great deal of monetary and political stability were restored, and the Republic enjoyed relative prosperity.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

Google apps