West Sumatra

West Sumatra is a province of Indonesia. On the west coast of the island of Sumatra, the province had a 2019 estimated population of 5,479,491 across an area of 42,012.89 km². The province includes the Mentawai Islands off the coast and borders the provinces of North Sumatra to the north, Riau and Jambi to the east, and Bengkulu to the southeast. West Sumatra is sub-divided into twelve regencies and seven cities. It has relatively more cities than other provinces outside of Java. Padang is the province's capital and largest city.
West Sumatra is home to the Minangkabau people, although the traditional Minangkabau region is actually wider than the province's boundaries, covering up to the southern region of North Sumatra, the western region of Riau, the western region of Jambi, the northern region of Bengkulu, and Negeri Sembilan in Malaysia. Another native ethnic group is Mentawai people, who inhabit the western islands of the same name. Islam is a predominant religion in the province with about 97.4% of the total population.
West Sumatra was the centre of Pagaruyung Kingdom, founded by Adityawarman in 1347.
Show lessRead more

Discover this place

11 items
Google apps