艺术家和他的行业

简介

在十六世纪,做画家意味着什么?那个时代,艺术家的地位与如今的概念相差甚远,艺术家仍然被视为手工艺者?
然而,勃鲁盖尔的作品并非匿名的:很快,画家就在作品上署名,这说明同时代人对他的天赋有一定认可。因此,艺术家与普通手工艺者有所区别。
在此,通过将稀少的当时原始资料与低地国家南部艺术文化史对证,我们将探讨中世纪画家行业的方方面面,以及安特卫普和布鲁塞尔的传播网络之形成的方方面面。

在十六世纪,一位艺术家从做学徒到获得师傅身份,通常要经过哪些步骤?
在师傅画室里或者在不可或缺的意大利之旅中学会的,往往源自长期手工艺传统的技法都有哪些?
尤其是,为了发展如此有特点的自身风格,天才是如何摆脱这种传承的束缚并超越这种传承的?

中世纪与文艺复兴之间
第1章:从一个模式到另一个模式,画家行业在演变

以师傅身份加入行会,通常是一位画家一生中的一个坐标点。
十四世纪以来,事实上,画家们就在“行业”或行会内部结成团体。行会监督并管制艺术家及手工艺者的工作。
我们对那个时代的艺术活动的认识,许多都是来自这些行会保管的Liggeren(或者说,“大登记簿”)。它们主要包含画家及其学徒的名单。虽然安特卫普公会自1382年起便已存在,它从1453年起才保管此类登记簿。
多亏这些对历史学家来说无比宝贵的文件,人们才确定地知道,勃鲁盖尔于1551年加入安特卫普圣路加公会。人们并不清楚他做学徒的具体经历。

十六世纪起,一旦学徒阶段结束并获得师傅身份,则通过著名的意大利之旅来继续画家教育。
在其旅行中(1553年至1555年),勃鲁盖尔带回了许多风景画,在他整个艺术生涯中,这些画将继续赋予他灵感。尤其是在《伊卡洛斯的坠落》中,后面的层次令人想起墨西拿海峡。

在尤以挂毯明细画著称的彼得·柯耶克·凡·阿尔斯特身边做学徒时,勃鲁盖尔已经间接接触到意大利艺术。艺术家在其中表现的形式语言,尤其是解剖学细节,让人想起阿尔卑斯以南发展的文艺复兴艺术。

回到弗拉芒,勃鲁盖尔通过为安特卫普版画出版商希罗尼穆斯·科克画画,开始他的艺术生涯。这些版画当时大受追捧,人们总是保存许多件,因此他的作品得以大量传播。

1562年,勃鲁盖尔最终转向绘画。然而他的作品似乎并非官方订单的产物。勃鲁盖尔并非为君王服务的宫廷画家。相反,他为私人客户工作。

当时,安特卫普是重要的贸易及金融市场,并且是对艺术家和收藏家有吸引力的中心。业余陈列馆倍增。因此,不久之后,它们成为弗兰斯·弗兰肯(1581-1642,主题画的创造者)之流画家的全新主题。这些陈列馆见证了安特卫普艺术市场上富裕收藏家的世界。

正是在这个当时处于鼎盛时期的贸易、知识和艺术中心,勃鲁盖尔从事他的行业并迅速建立客户群。他的订货人主要包括商人汉斯·弗兰克特(画家在其陪同下参加各种乡村宴会)、商人尼古拉斯·扬格林克或者甚至是先后担任查理五世之顾问和腓力二世之大臣的红衣主教安托万·佩勒诺·德·格朗维尔。

勃鲁盖尔几乎在他全部作品上署名,这也说明画家在生前就获得认可。
有趣的是,注意,艺术家及其长子小彼得·勃鲁盖尔的签名经常令人混淆。

事实上,直至1558年,老彼得·勃鲁盖尔的签名都是“Brueghel”,有字母“h”。之后,他省略了字母“h”,签名为“Bruegel”。
正是如此,人们才可以区分父子两人的签名。因为,小彼得和扬(和他们的父亲一样,都是画家)的签名保留了字母“h”。

技法之精湛和多样性
第2章:颜料、粘合剂和介质

十五世纪初以来,在低地国家,木板油画的技法得到了完善并且在整整一个世纪中发生了巨大飞跃。文艺复兴前的弗拉芒艺术家,例如扬·凡·艾克和罗希尔·凡·德尔·维登,将它发扬光大。

这种创新在于将亚麻油用作碎颜料粘合剂。如此获得的材料之后被用在事先涂有以白垩及动物胶为主要成分的白色颜料层的木板(通常是橡木板)上。

用这些主要成分创作油画通常要先用黑石或铅矿石进行素描。
勃鲁盖尔的作品继承了十五世纪文艺复兴前的弗拉芒艺术家的传统,他勇敢地采用了他们的技法。

同时,他不采用使北方画家声名远扬的透明画法,从而成功地摆脱了文艺复兴前弗拉芒艺术家传承的束缚。

这种乏味的技法在于将半透明颜料薄层细致地叠加起来,使得褶皱或肤色具有精致的深度效果。勃鲁盖尔则使用更为直接的“湿上加湿”技法,这种技法是希罗尼穆斯·博什引进的,在于连续地画各个图层,不让它们有时间变干。

勃鲁盖尔使用厚涂颜料层。意思是,他用颜料时采用更加图形化的风格并加重厚度。突出画面明亮部分的淡色笔触具有真正的立体感。例如,脸庞的突出感,不再是通过相互融合的色调来获得,而是通过颜料的厚度。树上的积雪是突出笔触的痕迹。

相反,对于天空和结冰的地面,勃鲁盖尔采用非常细致的图层,让人猜测这是起稿。

勃鲁盖尔还采用十五、十六世纪流行的另一种技法:用胶画颜料在未经调制的亚麻画布上画画。

与油画相比较,胶画颜料不是与油混合,而是与其他粘合剂,例如水、蛋、淀粉、动物胶或者甚至是糖。此外,用这种技法创作的作品不涂清漆,因此保存了无光泽的一面。创作过程必须要快,因为色彩很快就被亚麻画布吸收。

因为介质精细并且绘画材料没有最终的清漆层保护,这些作品极度脆弱而且难以保存。它们很少能经得起时间的考验。正因为如此,这幅《三贤士来朝》(尽管有些专家对其作者身份提出异议)才如此稀有和宝贵。

他的创作灵感源自拉斐尔一部作品,这部作品于1520年至1531年期间在布鲁塞尔被编织成织锦画,并且因为希罗尼穆斯·科克出版的版画而广泛传播。

介质的类型和深暗的边框让人想起挂毯艺术。

作为介质的亚麻画布构成画作底色并且在有些地方显露可见。明亮部分,例如屋顶,使用白色增加亮度。

与油画相反,这种画没有起稿:素描和绘画都用胶画颜料进行。因此,素描是逐渐转化为绘画的。

这种方法毫无疑问证明了画家的本领。

在成为画家之前,勃鲁盖尔首先是一位伟大的素描家,他的绘画创作是连贯的。

这位弗拉芒大师的素描作品可以分为两类。一类是自由素描,主要是风景画(往往在他的绘画中再现)。另一类是细节更加丰富的素描,是为了刻版,例如,《美德》组画中一幅名为《审慎》的素描。

在他用于刻版的素描中,影线和线条——即艺术家的图形风格——证明勃鲁盖尔精通版画工艺。

然而,并非他亲自将自己的素描刻版。而是由其他艺术家,例如,彼得·凡·德尔·海顿或者弗兰斯·海斯,他们精细地依照艺术家画的每条线条,将其刻在铜板上,以获得最忠实于素描原件的版画。

这些版画在当时是伟大的新事物,获得了一定成功并且在市场上广泛传播。因此它们也为勃鲁盖尔的名声作出了贡献。

师承关系和创造力
第3章:勃鲁盖尔和他那个时代的绘画传统

在安特卫普,风景画从十六世纪初开始成为独立主题。

多亏出生于迪南并于1515年以出师会员身份加入安特卫普公会的约阿希姆·帕蒂尼尔,风景与人物的关系发生了逆转。从此人物退居次要地位,例如在这幅《有施洗者圣约翰讲道的风景》中。尽管风景始终与宗教场景结合,后者却被放在构图的后面层次。

帕蒂尼尔以居高临下的视点来画风景,不同层次依次铺展。每个层次都有一种色调:第一层次是褐色,中间层次是绿色,后面层次是蓝色。

一种新的风景画诞生了。

勃鲁盖尔在这种安特卫普新生传统中加入了他天才的笔法。

在勃鲁盖尔这幅作品中,人们可以发现居高临下的视点和依次铺展的层次,每个层次都有一种色调。
第一层次中,小山岗上的农民和他的马,因为有投向地平线的一线光对比,而创造了显著的透视效果。

照亮大海中心和山岗侧面的光线构成弯曲的地平线,产生地球是圆形的感觉。

十六世纪起,在低地国家,对人类形象的描绘受到意大利艺术家(例如拉斐尔或莱奥纳多·达芬奇)的影响。

在昆丁·马西斯这幅作品中,构图围绕着中间的圣婴耶稣展开。耶稣周围的人物排成几个整齐的三角形,这与意大利建筑学相呼应。

十五、十六世纪之交,这幅画标志着弗拉芒艺术进入文艺复兴时期。远方风景按照莱奥纳多·达芬奇的风格处理,采用“轮廓模糊的绘画手法(sfumato)”,以产生近似于神秘的朦胧感。人物的脸庞则同时遵守弗拉芒艺术和意大利艺术。

十六世纪起,在低地国家,对人类形象的描绘受到意大利艺术家(例如拉斐尔或莱奥纳多·达芬奇)的影响。

在昆丁·马西斯这幅作品中,构图围绕着中间的圣婴耶稣展开。耶稣周围的人物排成几个整齐的三角形,这与意大利建筑学相呼应。

十五、十六世纪之交,这幅画标志着弗拉芒艺术进入文艺复兴时期。远方风景按照莱奥纳多·达芬奇的风格处理,采用“轮廓模糊的绘画手法(sfumato)”,以产生近似于神秘的朦胧感。人物的脸庞则同时遵守弗拉芒艺术和意大利艺术。

彼得·勃鲁盖尔是彼得·柯耶克的学徒,后者则曾经在伯纳德·凡·奥尔莱——意大利艺术在低地国家最著名的介绍者之一——的画室求学。因此,他当然熟悉或许是他们传授给他的意大利艺术准则。然而,为了向我们呈上原创性和个人化的作品,他摆脱了这些准则的束缚。
勃鲁盖尔笔下的人物没有当时整个北方如此风行的意大利风格主义。相反,他笔下人物众多,表现力强,有时甚至夸张讽刺。它们的活力激发了他之后许多画家的灵感。

结论
为了创造有力、美丽而感人的画像,这位大师杰出地运用了构图、透视法、绘画法、轮廓的表现力和叙事进展。 通过他的绘画作品,勃鲁盖尔创造了一种绝对是弗拉芒式并且不可否认是现代性的风格,同时这种风格充满了意大利经验和北方传承。 在此背景下,在传统与现代性之间,这位弗拉芒大师展示了他所有绘画天赋。他通过在历史中叙述历史,创造了描绘周遭世界的新方式。
Royal Museums of Fine Arts
故事鸣谢名单:

协调
Jennifer Beauloye

写作
Véronique Vandamme & Jennifer Beauloye

科学指导
Joost Vander Auwera

来源
-Manfred Sellink, Bruegel : L'oeuvre complet, Peintures, dessins, gravures, Gand, Ludion, 2007.
-Peter van den Brink (dir.), L'entreprise Brueghel, Gand Ludion, 2001.
-Philippe Roberts-Jones et Françoise Roberts-Jones-Popelier, Pierre Bruegel l'Ancien, Paris, Flammarion, 1997.

致谢
Véronique Bücken, Joost Vander Auwera, Jean-Philippe Theyskens, Laurent Germeau, Pauline Vyncke, Lies van de Cappelle, Karine Lasaracina, Isabelle Vanhoonacker‎, Gladys Vercammen-Grandjean, Marianne Knop‎.

版权
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels
© Graphische Sammlung Albertina, Wien
© KBR, Bruxelles
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels / photo : J. Geleyns / Ro scan
© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

所有参展内容的来源:
展出的故事有时可能由独立的第三方创作,并不完全代表以下提供这些内容的机构的观点。
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Bruegel the painter

FOREWORD

What did it mean to be a painter in the 16th century? What was the artist's social status and was painting still considered an artisanal trade?

Early in his career Bruegel - although far from unknown - started to sign his work. His signatures are proof of a certain recognition of his genius by his contemporaries, and indicate that he set himself apart from the ordinary artisan.

By combining rare archival sources from the time with artistic and cultural history from the Southern Low Countries, we can discuss the different aspects of a painter’s job in the Middle Ages, from learning their skill to the art trade networks in Antwerp and Brussels.

What was the typical path of an artist in the 16th century, from apprentice to master? And, what techniques, often from long-standing artisan tradition, did they learn in a master's workshop or during the required journey around Italy?

Above all, how did the genius emancipate himself from this legacy and transcend it to develop his own characteristic style?

BETWEEN THE MIDDLE AGES AND THE RENAISSANCE 
CHAPTER 1. Ever changing models, an evolving art

A milestone in a painter's life was the registration in a guild as a master.
From the 14th century, painters were grouped in "trades" or corporations, which controlled and regulated the work of artists and artisans.

Much of what we know about artistic work in this period comes from the Liggeren or "registers" kept by such guilds. They contain lists of painters as well as the names of their apprentices. While the Antwerp guild has existed since 1382, its registers only date back to 1453.

These documents, vital for historians, prove that Bruegel registered with the Guild of Saint Luke in Antwerp in 1551. Whether or not he had an apprentice, is not certain.

From the 16th century onwards, painters typically continued their training after finishing an apprenticeship by journeying through Italy. This was a critical stage before reaching the status of master.

Bruegel brought back numerous landscapes from his Italian journey of two years (1553-1555). These works inspired him throughout his career. For example, the background in his painting Landscape with the Fall of Icarus recalls views of the Strait of Messina in Southern Italy.

Bruegel had already come into contact with Italian art during his apprenticeship under Pieter Coeke van Aelst. Aelst was an artist known above all for his tapestry designs. The formal language that he used, particularly in anatomical details of the face and hands, recalls the softly rounded style of Italian Renaissance artists like Raphael.

Upon his return to Flanders, Bruegel started his career by creating drawings for the Antwerp print publisher Hieronymus Cock. These very popular etchings, many copies of which are still in existence, would ensure a wide distribution of Bruegel's work.

It was in 1562 at the age of 37 that Bruegel dedicated himself fully to painting. However, his works do not seem to be the result of official commissions. Bruegel was not a court painter for a monarch, in fact, he worked for private clients.

At the time, Antwerp was an important financial and trading hub as well as being an attractive centre for artists and collectors. Cabinets d'amateur became more common, to such a point that they would later become a separate subject for painters such as Frans Francken (1581-1642) who invented the theme. These cabinets are a testimony to the world of rich collectors who embodied the Antwerp art markets.

It was in this thriving intellectual and artistic trading hub that Bruegel rapidly built up his clientèle. His commissioners included notably the trader Hans Franckert (with whom he would go to village parties), the trader Nicolas Jongelink and even Cardinal Antoine Perrenot de Granvelle, counsellor of Charles V and minister for Philip II.

Bruegel signed nearly all his works which proves the recognition that the artist had earned during his lifetime.

It is also interesting to note that the signature of Bruegel and his eldest son, Pieter Brueghel the Younger are easily confused. Indeed, up to 1558, Pieter Bruegel the Elder signed his name "Brueghel" with an "h". He would later abandon the "h" and sign "Bruegel", thus helping to distinguish his signature from that of his sons. Both Pieter and Jan, who were painters like their father, kept the "h".

VIRTUOSITY AND DIVERSITY OF TECHNIQUES
CHAPTER 2. Pigments, bindings and substrates

From the beginning of the 15th century, oil on wood painting was perfected in the Low Countries, where it enjoyed great success throughout the century.

Flemish Primitives such as Jan Van Eyck and Rogier van der Weyden would later glorify this technique.

The innovative technique used linseed oil as a binding agent for ground pigments. The resulting material is then applied onto a wood panel, generally oak, pre-coated in a white gesso made of chalk and animal glue.

Oil paint is generally applied to this base following a preparatory sketch carried out using charcoal or lead pencil.
Bruegel's works follow the tradition of the 15th century Flemish Primitives, a technique which he adopted with great flair.

At the same time, he succeeded in freeing himself from the legacy of the Flemish Primitives by not using the glaze which had made northern painters famous.

This tedious task required a delicate overlay of fine transparent layers which produced refined depth effects in the folds of drapes or human complexions. Bruegel, however, used a more direct "alla prima" technique introduced by Hieronymus Bosch, which involved painting successive layers without giving them the time to dry.

Bruegel used the impasto technique, using a more graphic, thicker painting technique. The pale highlights which catch the light really do stand out. Facial structures, for example, are not achieved by mixing colours into others but using thickness of material. The snow stuck to the trees is, in fact, created using raised brush strokes.

For skies and frozen surfaces, however, Bruegel uses very thin pictorial layers which show traces of the preparatory layer.

Bruegel also exploited another technique commonly used in the 15th and 16th centuries: tempera on non-prepared linen canvas.

In comparison with oil paints, here the pigments are mixed not with oil but with other binding agents such as water, egg, starch, animal glue or even sugar. Furthermore, pieces carried out using this technique are not varnished and thus retain a matt finish. The painter must work quickly as the colours are rapidly absorbed by the linen canvas.

Such a delicate substrate and the fact that the paint materials are not protected by a final coat of varnish make these works extremely fragile and difficult to preserve. Very few examples have stood the test of time. This is what makes The Adoration of the Magi such a rare and precious work, despite the fact that its attribution is disputed by certain experts.

The composition is inspired by a work by Raphael, created in Brussels between 1520 and 1531 and widely disseminated thanks to an etching published by Hieronymus Cock.

The type of support and the dark border which frames the subject are reminiscent of tapestry art.

The linen canvas on which the piece is painted provides the background of the composition and is visible in several places. In the lighter areas, like the roofs, the canvas is made lighter with white.

In contrast to oil paints, there is no underlying sketch here as the preparatory work and painting are done using tempura. The passage from one technique to the other is done progressively.

This process obviously shows the painter's know-how.

Before becoming a painter, Pieter Bruegel was above all a great illustrator with a substantial amount of graphic work to his name.

The Flemish master's work can be categorised into two types of drawings. One the one hand, free drawings, mainly of landscapes (often used again in later paintings). On the other hand, more detailed drawings, designed to become etchings, like this one entitled Prudence, which is part of a series entitled Virtues.

In these drawings destined to become etchings, the hatching and lines - the artist's graphic writing - prove that Bruegel knew the etching process well.

However, it was not he who etched his own drawings. It was other artists such as Pieter van der Heyden and Frans Huys, who meticulously etched his drawings into a copper plate so as to produce a print that was more faithful to the original.

These prints, a great novelty at the time, were somewhat of a success and were largely disseminated on the market. This also added to Bruegel’s fame.

LEGACY AND INGENUITY 
CHAPTER 3. Bruegel and the pictorial traditions of his time

In Antwerp, landscapes became a pictorial theme of their own from the beginning of the 16th century.

It is to Joachim Patenier, originally from Dinant and registered as a free master in Antwerp in 1515, that we owe this inversion in the relationships between landscapes and figures. Figures were thus subordinate elements, like in this Landscape with John the Baptist Preaching. While the landscape is again accompanied by a religious scene, the religious scene is relegated to the background of the composition.

Patenier perfected the art of landscapes with a plunging view with a succession of different planes. Each plane has its own shade: brown for the foreground, green for the middle ground and blue for the background.

This marked the birth of a new type of landscape.

Bruegel adds his own touch of genius to this emerging tradition of Antwerp landscapes.

In this painting by Bruegel, we find the same plunging view and successive planes, each with its own shade.
The peasant and his horse on the hill in the foreground give the work an accentuated perspective thanks to the contrast with the vista towards the horizon.

The light which brightens the middle of the sea and the flanks of the hill, forming a bow-shaped horizon line, give a sense of the curvature of the Earth.

From the 16th century, the representation of the human figure in the Low Countries is influenced by Italian artists such as Raphael and Leonardo da Vinci.

In this work by Quentin Mastys, the composition is organised around the central figure, the baby Jesus. Around him, the characters are set out in aligned triangles which mirror Italian architecture.

At the turn of the 16th century, this painting represented the beginning of the Flemish art Renaissance. Distant landscapes were depicted in the "sfumato" style of Leonardo da Vinci, giving it a mysteriously misty effect. The faces are rooted both in Flemish and Italian art.

From the 16th century, the representation of the human figure in the Low Countries is influenced by Italian artists such as Raphael and Leonardo da Vinci.

In this work by Quentin Mastys, the composition is organised around the central figure, the baby Jesus. Around him, the characters are set out in aligned triangles which mirror Italian architecture.

At the turn of the 16th century, this painting represented the beginning of the Flemish art Renaissance. Distant landscapes were depicted in the "sfumato" style of Leonardo da Vinci, giving it a mysteriously misty effect. The faces are rooted both in Flemish and Italian art.

Pieter Bruegel completed his apprenticeship under Pieter Coecke, an artist who was familiar with the workshop of Bernard van Orley, one of the most famous Italian art representatives in the Low Countries. He was therefore surely familiar with the canons of Italian art passed down to him by such artists. He would, however, remove himself from Italian art to create an original and personal oeuvre.

Bruegel's characters do not have the same Italian mannerisms which were highly in fashion in the North at the time. In fact, his figures are generous in size, expressive and sometimes even caricatural. Their dynamism would later inspire numerous painters.

CONCLUSION
Composition, perspective, graphism, expressive silhouettes, and narrative story-telling are brilliantly used by the Flemish master to produce effective, beautiful and touching images.Through his pictorial work, Bruegel creates a resolutely Flemish and undeniably modern style which was nevertheless enriched by Italian expertise and Northern heritage. In this context, between tradition and modernity, the Flemish master employs all his pictorial genius. He invents new ways of representing the world around him by telling stories in history.
Royal Museums of Fine Arts
Credits: Story

COORDINATION
Jennifer Beauloye

TEXT
Véronique Vandamme & Jennifer Beauloye

SCIENTIFIC OVERSIGHT
Joost Vander Auwera

SOURCES
-Manfred Sellink, Bruegel : L'oeuvre complet, Peintures, dessins, gravures, Gand, Ludion, 2007.
-Peter van den Brink (dir.), L'entreprise Brueghel, Gand Ludion, 2001.
-Philippe Roberts-Jones et Françoise Roberts-Jones-Popelier, Pierre Bruegel l'Ancien, Paris, Flammarion, 1997.

THANKS GO TO
Véronique Bücken, Joost Vander Auwera, Jean-Philippe Theyskens, Laurent Germeau, Pauline Vyncke, Lies van de Cappelle, Karine Lasaracina, Isabelle Vanhoonacker‎, Gladys Vercammen-Grandjean, Marianne Knop‎.

CREDITS
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels
© Graphische Sammlung Albertina, Wien
© KBR, Bruxelles
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels / photo : J. Geleyns / Ro scan
© Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile