Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo House-Studio Museum: functionalist architecture

Museo Casa Estudio Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo

Learn more about the construction of this property, commissioned by Rivera to architect Juan O'Gorman.

The architecture of Juan O'Gorman
The "Museo Casa Estudio Diego Rivera y Frida Kahlo" (Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo House-Studio Museum) comprises 3 house-studios, a photographic laboratory, and a garage. The first house was built by Juan O'Gorman between 1929 and 1931, and his work was a watershed moment in 20th century Mexican architecture. These homes exemplify the functionalism of the architect Le Corbusier, embodying the principle of "minimum expense for minimum effort," which sums up his now classic work.

The buildings incorporate functionalist elements which, in several cases, have been adapted to the Mexican landscape. Examples of this are the pilotis (slender columns that support the first-floor structure) and the use of concrete, baked clay panels, electrical installations, exposed drainage, open floors in the style of vestibules, and a spiral staircase—the central component which stands out from everything else.

A constant element in this space is the organic cactus perimeter fence, which visually integrates it as a whole, from inside and out. It is a fundamental aspect that demonstrates the importance O'Gorman gave to landscape architecture.

In line with his political and social views, as well as his functionalist aesthetics, Diego Rivera commissioned him to build his house and studio, which was completed in 1932. He also planned to build a small photographic workshop.

In keeping with the style chosen for construction of the first house-studio, the first floors are completely open and the others are supported by pilotis. The property includes access from the streets Diego Rivera (then Palma) and Altavista, as well as the cactus fence that marks out the plot.

Le Corbusier's influence can be seen in the building that houses the studio, given its similarity to the house-studio belonging to the painter Amedeé Ozenfant, which was built in Paris in 1922. Both structures boast a saw-tooth roof and an external spiral staircase with concrete handrails. Inside, the work space or painter's studio is the highlight, because of its dimensions and double height.

The house that was lived in, known today as "Casa Frida," was the part designed to be used as a home, with a bathroom, kitchen, dining room, and bedroom, and a studio on the second floor for Frida Kahlo. The proportions of the spaces are smaller in scale, since functionalism advocated building very small homes.

On the roofs of both buildings are terraces that can be used as viewpoints, and the two spaces are connected with a bridge. From there, the area of San Ángel can be made out, with its colonial and neocolonial buildings that clashed completely with these two newer houses, signaling a modernization in construction.

Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo returned from their stay in the USA in 1934 and only lived in the houses as a couple for a short time, because Frida left Diego and moved to the "Casa Azul" (Blue House) in Coyoacán, where she had spent her childhood and youth. Even when they were subsequently reconciled, they kept separate homes and did not live together again.

This is where Diego died in 1957, and his vigil was held in his studio before his body was transported to the Palacio de Bellas Artes (Palace of Fine Arts) for his funeral.

Recent history
In 1986, the building was handed over to the Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes (National Institute of Fine Arts) and the Diego Rivera House-Studio Museum was opened in the painter's studio. "Casa Frida," meanwhile, was handed over to the National Centre of Research, Documentation, and Information on Visual Arts (CENIDIAP).

The site had changed quite a lot over time, and in 1997, the decision was made to restore it to its original 1932 state, incorporating the "Casa Frida" into the museum and changing the name to the Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo House-Studio Museum.

A second stage of transformation occurred in 2012, when the neighboring property—the 1929 O'Gorman house—was acquired.

This was annexed to the museum site after an exhaustive restoration project, during which original elements of the house were recovered. These included the outline or sinopia of the mural "Between Philosophy and Science There Is a Significant Difference," painted by Juan O'Gorman himself in what was the dining room, as well as the reconstruction of the spiral staircase.

Juan O'Gorman's functionalist house-studio project was therefore restored to its original integral state, allowing visitors to see the symbolic space that brought 3 historic Mexican figures together.

Diego Rivera’s Studio
Diego Rivera’s presence in this space offers a glimpse of the passion he felt for painting and collecting things. Rivera made this space his home. Surrounded by "cartonería popular" or Mexican papier-mâché sculptures that sit harmoniously alongside his canvases, papers, pigments, drawing table, and brushes, it offers visitors an insight into this important artist's private space.

Rivera's "Judases" (Mexican papier-mâché dolls), popular toys, and collection of pre-Hispanic objects looked on, as his endless hours spent working added to the myths and controversy surrounding his prolific artistic production. In his studio, he was accompanied by the muses who inspired his many portraits, while he also worked on his murals. His love of art can be felt in his work and in his environment. He treasured, drew, wrote, and painted life itself, and his everyday perspective extols Mexican values.

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile