Digital Heritage

Sydney Opera House

In 2013, the Sydney Opera House became the only modern building to be included in the Scottish Ten, a global project to preserve World Heritage sites for posterity.

Digital World Heritage
The Scottish Ten is an ambitious, five-year collaboration between the Scottish government’s heritage agency, Historic Scotland, the Glasgow School of Art’s Digital Design Studio and not-for-profit digital heritage organisation CyArk.In 2013, the Scottish Ten Project laser-mapped the Sydney Opera House to create an extraordinarily detailed and innovative 3D model for the Opera House’s 40th Anniversary, which launched a Decade of Renewal to prepare Australia’s most famous building for future generations of artists, audiences and visitors. The 3D model has informed the development of the Opera House’s new Building Information Management system, a key tool in its Decade of Renewal.The only modern building to be included in this historic, global initiative, the Sydney Opera House joins Mount Rushmore in the United States, India’s Rani ki Vav (The Queen's Stepwell) and China’s Eastern Qing Tombs as one of five international and five Scottish sites inscribed by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as World Heritage sites to be preserved for posterity. The World Heritage-listed Sydney Opera House welcomes more than 8.2 million visitors on site and hosts almost 2000 performances attended by 1.45 million people every year. It is one of the world’s busiest cultural precincts.

This video demonstrates just a portion of the digital information captured. Duration 1:15.

Credits: Story

Created by Sam Doust and the
Sydney Opera House GCI Team


Centre for Digital Documentation and Visualisation as part of The Scottish Ten

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google