1918年 - 1941年

尼爾森‧曼德拉早期生活

Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory

「我們在大草原裡團體工作與遊玩的經驗,讓我認識到早期集體合作的思想。」

尼爾森.曼德拉在 1918 年出生,住在東開普省 (Eastern Cape) 的農村直至 1941 年。他是坦布族 (Thembu) 酋長 (傳統領袖) 的兒子,年輕時深受坦布族的風俗傳統以及基督教教會學校的教育影響。1939 年至 1941 年間,他就讀於福特哈爾大學 (University of Fort Hare),該大學是提供給南非黑人 (或其他非洲國家的黑人學生) 就讀的高等教育學校。他在那裡第一次接觸到非洲民族主義的政治。1941年,他離開東開普省,前往約翰尼斯堡 (Johannesburg),更直接感受到國家種族歧視的事實,同時在這裡,從南非非洲人國民大會找到了自己政治的舞台。

這是尼爾森‧曼德拉回憶中心資料庫中最早的存檔。

在尼爾森‧曼德拉成年生活的大多時間裡,他一直勤於創造記錄並認真地加以收藏。這個習慣從他收藏自己在 1929 年至 1934 年間每年的衛理公會成員卡就可窺見。

循道會卡 (METHODIST CHURCH CARDS)

這些泛黃的小卡片以他的母語科薩語所寫成,上面標有主日學 (Sunday School) 教徒的加入日期。主日學是循道宗教徒 (Methodist) 小孩的教會。卡片上印有聖經節錄詩文。

孩童時參加主日學對尼爾森.曼德拉留下極深的影響,當他第一次在福特哈爾 (Fort Hare) 進大學時,他也成為了主日學老師。

1977 年 3 月 27 日從羅本島寫給他的長女瑪琪‧曼德拉 (Maki Mandela) 的信中,他說:

「你們都知道我是在循道宗教教堂內受洗,而受教育都是在衛理公會派 (Wesleyan) 的學校:克拉克伯理 (Clarkebury)、希爾德頓 (Healdtown) 及福特哈爾。我住在衛理的家 (Wesley House)。在福特哈爾時,我甚至成為主日學的老師。」

這張照片,被視為尼爾森.曼德拉最早拍攝的照片,現在保存於尼爾森.曼德拉回憶中心。照片中他與衛斯理學院 (Wesleyan College) 的希爾德頓 (Healdtown) 班級合照,他於 1937 年至 1938 年在此就讀。

早期照片

相片中央坐著的是女生宿舍主任梅特沃克蔓女士,及時任赫德頓 (Healdtown) 主任的亞瑟.威靈頓牧師 (Rev Arthur Wellington)。曼德拉先生對於威靈頓牧師有深刻的回憶,因為這位牧師宣稱自己是威靈頓公爵的後裔。曼德拉先生跟人聊到學生時代故事時,往往會爆笑出來。

威靈頓牧師右邊是莫奇提米牧師 (Rev SM Mokitimi,男生宿舍主任,並身兼其他職務),再右邊是學生珍.蔓索拉 (Jane Methola)。莫奇提米牧師後方是另一位學生吉爾伯特.齊米尼 (Gilbert Nzimeni)。

關於莫奇提米牧師,曼德拉先生寫道:「受人尊敬的莫奇提米令我們感動的另一個原因是:他勇敢面對威靈頓牧師。」他說,目睹此一情況讓他了解到「不管白人有多資深,黑人都不一定要自動聽從。」

「…小時候,我就離開我的雙親,搬到別的地方住,和其他男孩一起吃飯一起玩。事實上,我不記得我有獨自在家的時候。」

國家的幼年時期: 在 1970 年 8 月 1 日這封致史瓦濟蘭 (Swaziland) 道格拉斯.盧克勒 (Douglas Lukhele) 參議員的信中,他提醒自己不要忘了自己國家的幼年時期。

1964 年 6 月 13 日,尼爾森.曼德拉開始在羅賓島無期徒刑的日子,他每半年才可以寄出及收到一封 500 字的信件。信件變得很珍貴 — 是他與外界聯絡及得知家人狀況的唯一方式。

信件還能讓人回想當下種種並記錄下自己的想法。甚至,可以說是一種冥想,尤其在不知信件是否能送達收件人手上的情況下。

傳統與現代

尼爾森.曼德拉經常書寫並提及他的背景和童年,包括他聆聽成人解決問題的經驗,以及他所居住的兩個世界。

這些紀錄顯現出曼德拉先生敏銳地意識到傳統與現代之間的緊張關係,以及他從鄉下出生地習得的觀念,如何讓他成為現代人。

他也曾筆戰那些以自身文化習俗貶低他人的人。他總是鼓勵每個人都應該尊重傳統,但與別人互動時卻不應該受傳統左右。

隱藏的槍

1914 年,尼爾森.曼德拉和他的表弟賈斯帝斯 (Justice) 為了逃離別人安排的婚姻,離家來到約翰尼斯堡的克朗礦區。在門口,他請一位名叫比基夏 (Bikitsha) 的同鄉幫他攜帶行李。

礦區保安人員在搜索時發現,他的行李中有一把用衣物包裹住的上膛左輪手槍,那是尼爾森.曼德拉的父親留給他的。

大約 30 到 40 年後,南非歷史學家昂賽雷恩 (Charles van Onselen) 教授在約翰尼斯堡的一間書店找尋「政黨左翼」的二手書時,找到了一本陸克斯 (Eddie Roux) 的書,書名為《時間比繩子長:南非黑人爭取自由之路》(Time Longer Than Rope: The Black Man’s Struggle for Freedom in South Africa)。這本書當時在南非是禁書,而昂賽雷恩教授買了這本書帶回家。

他很驚訝的發現,書裡面夾了一張兩位年輕人的照片;他馬上就認出其中一位是被監禁在羅賓島的尼爾森.曼德拉。

日後,尼爾森.曼德拉確認照片中另一位年輕人的身分是藏槍故事裡的比基夏 (Bikitsha)。

大學

尼爾森.曼德拉 1939 年進入福特哈爾大學就讀,1942 年畢業取得學士學位。

在約翰尼斯堡的時候,他就讀於金山大學 (University of the Witwatersrand),而在 1962 年被監禁時,他開始上倫敦大學 (London University) 的函授課程,雖然無法親自到學校上課,仍順利於 1989 年被釋放的前幾個月畢業,取得法學學士學位。

不過,他最難忘的是在福特哈爾大學求學的日子。那時他只是個從鄉下來的年輕人,卻有機會進入當時在南非最有名的黑人教育機構就讀。

他深知,在一個種族歧視的國家,身為黑人會遇到種種的歧視與困難,但到福特哈爾大學就讀可以幫助他開拓成功的未來。然而,他在自傳的原始手稿中提到,他很失望的發現他所學的,與南非的狀況並沒有直接的關連性。

離家

在尼爾森.曼德拉的生命中,最重要的時刻或許是他的父親孟伐肯伊斯瓦 (Gadla Henry Mphakanyiswa) 過世之時,這導致他必須離開親愛的母親,搬去與待他如親生兒子的攝政王一起住。

他與達林岱波 (Jongintaba Dalindyebo) 及其兒子賈斯提司 (Justice) 一起住在位於莫澤克茲維理 (Mqhekezweni) 的王室官邸,這意味著許多特權與機會;他可以就讀最好的學校,進入大學。而且,當攝政王聽取部落人民的問題時,他能夠坐在一旁觀察,學習攝政王如何先聆聽再發言。

這些經驗形塑了尼爾森.曼德拉的人生格局。他以父親之死做為未出版自傳手稿的開頭。

尼爾森.曼德拉 16 歲時經歷了科薩族 (Xhosa) 的傳統成年儀式。他與另外 25 名年輕人一起在他出生地附近的河岸邊進行了名為「啟蒙學校」(initiation school) 的儀式。

啟蒙過程包括離家遠行並與其他年輕人一起在蠻荒地帶生活。他們會獲得成為成人的忠告與勸誡,最後接受完成轉變的割禮。

曼德拉先生在擔任總統期間及後來的日子裡,樂於向來訪的外國男性訪客描述令人退避三舍的割禮細節。

他在 1970 年代於羅本島 (Robben Island) 撰寫的未出版自傳手稿中,也有相關的描述。

尼爾森‧羅利拉拉 (Nelson Rolihlahla) 被國王所扶養。在他擔任騰布 (Thembu) 國王顧問的父親恩科西‧孟伐肯伊斯瓦‧曼德拉酋長 (Nkosi (Chief) Mphakanyiswa Mandela) 去世後,年幼的曼德拉被送往姆克海凱澤韋尼 (Mqhekezweni) 的皇宮以及王府。嬰兒國王薩巴塔 (King Sabata) 的攝政王,瓊金塔巴,達林岱波 (Jongintaba Dalindyebo) 在那裡親自指導和照顧他。在攝政王的關注下,年輕的曼德拉獲得特殊的成長待遇,並且在當時接受了最好的教育。在攝政王開庭和處理爭端之際曼德拉隨伺在側,這一位未來的領袖學習了對話之道,懂得在大膽表達自己意見之前,聽取來自各方面的爭辯。這些技能,對他未來的歲月非常有幫助。

由國王所帶大

尼爾森.曼德拉是他父親第三任妻子生下的唯一的兒子,雖然他出生在東開普省的的姆維佐村 (Village of Mvezo),但他童年大部分時間都是在庫努 (Qunu) 過的,在他父親辭世後,他們遷往姆克海凱津韋尼 (Mqhekezweni)。1990 年出獄後,他總是喜歡回到庫努,他在那裡蓋了一棟房子。身為自由之人後,他念茲在茲的便是走訪父母的長眠之地庫努。他的母親諾絲柯妮 (Nosekeni) 在 1968 年過世,享壽 70 幾歲,當時尼爾森.曼德拉正監禁於羅本島。出獄後他以最短的時間來到母親墳前,那也是父親夢伐肯伊斯瓦 (Mphakanyiswa) Nkosi (南非語,意指酋長) 的安葬之地;他在父親去世時還只是個孩子。

記得庫努村 (QUNU)

尼爾森.曼德拉總是喜歡訴說科薩詩人米卡伊 (Mqhayi) 如何戲劇化地闖入他的年輕歲月、粉碎神話,並激勵他突破窠臼,看得更高更遠。這個故事起因於米卡伊訪問他高中就讀的衛理公會寄宿學校赫德頓。在 1930 年代末期,赫德頓由殖民地名人亞瑟.威靈頓 (Arthur Wellington) 博士所管轄;當時幾乎沒有人會質疑這位博士,直到米卡伊挺身而出,讓他的狂熱跟隨者們相信自己是最重要的。不過,曼德拉先生在故事結尾時解釋,他後來理解那種認知其實是退回部落時代。

拜訪詩人

尼爾森.曼德拉被福特哈爾大學 (University College of Fort Hare) 勒令退學激怒了他的監護人,也就是國王。 國王決定替他和他的表弟 (也就是國王的兒子賈斯汀) 安排婚姻:國王幫他們兩人找了妻子,導致曼德拉從農村出走,邁向高速工業化的約翰尼斯堡。在約翰尼斯堡,他開始對政治感興趣,並且走向命運之路 - 推翻種族隔離政策。

被安排好的婚姻
故事協力單位/參與人員

Photographer — Ardon Bar Hama
Photographer — Matthew Willman
Reasearch & Curation — Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory Staff

所有媒體協力單位/參與人員
在某些情況下,精選故事可能是由獨立的第三方製作,並不代表下列展覽機構的意見與觀點。
使用 Google 進行翻譯
首頁
探索
附近
簡介

1918 - 1941

Nelson Mandela: Early Life

Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory

“...my experiences in the veld where we worked and played together in groups, introduced me at an early age to the ideas of collective effort.”

From his birth in 1918 until 1941, Nelson Mandela lived in the rural Eastern Cape. The son of a Thembu chief (traditional leader), his primary influences as a young person were the customs of the Thembu people and the education he received at Christian mission schools. Between 1939 and 1941 he studied at the University of Fort Hare, a tertiary institution for black South Africans (and black students from other African countries), where he was first exposed to the politics of African nationalism. In 1941 he left the Eastern Cape for the city of Johannesburg, where he was to be exposed more directly to the realities of state racism and where he was to find a political home in the African National Congress.

These are the oldest items in the archive of the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory.

For most of his adult life, Mandela has been a diligent maker of records and an obsessive record-keeper. How else to explain his collection of Methodist Church membership cards recording his annual membership between 1929 and 1934.


The small, yellowed cards are written in his home language of isiXhosa and display the date, that they are for members of the Sunday School – the forum for child congregants of the Methodist Church. On the cards are printed verses from the bible.

His attendance of Sunday School as a child must have made an impression on Mr Mandela as when he attended university for the first time, at Fort Hare, he became a Sunday School teacher too.

In a letter to his eldest daughter Maki Mandela, written on Robben Island on 27 March 1977 he said:

“As you know, I was baptised in the Methodist Church and was educated in Wesleyan schools – Clarkebury, Healdtown and at Fort Hare. I stayed at Wesley House. At Fort Hare I even became a Sunday School teacher.”

A photograph, which is regarded as the earliest known taken of Nelson Mandela, is housed in the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory and features him in a class photograph of Healdtown, the Wesleyan College he attended in 1937 and 1938.


At the centre of the photograph sits Ms Myrtle Workman, head of the girls’ hostel, and Rev Arthur Wellington, then head of Healdtown. In all his recollections of Healdtown, Mr Mandela highlighted the character of Rev Wellington who would proclaim “I am a descendant of the Duke of Wellington”. Mr Mandela would often break out laughing when he regaled people with tales of his schooldays.

To the right of Rev Wellington is Rev SM Mokitimi (head of the boys’ hostel, among other positions) and to his right is Ms Jane Methola, a pupil. Behind Rev Mokitimi is another pupil, Mr Gilbert Nzimeni.

Of Rev SM Mokitimi Mr Mandela wrote: “Reverend Mokitimi impressed us for another reason: He stood up to Rev Wellington.” He said witnessing this made him realise that “a black man did not have to defer automatically to a white, however senior he was.”

“... at an early age I drifted away from my parents and moved about, played and ate together with other boys. In fact I hardly remember any occasion when I was ever alone at home.”

COUNTRY CHILDHOOD: In this letter to Senator Douglas Lukhele in Swaziland , dated 1 August 1970, he reminded himself of his country childhood.

When Nelson Mandela began serving his life sentence on Robben Island from 13 June 1964 he was only allowed to write and receive one letter of 500 words every six months. Letters were precious – a way of communicating with the outside world and receiving any news about one’s family.

It was also a way of recalling one’s life up to that moment and recording one’s thoughts. A kind of meditation – when one never knew whether the letter would safely reach the intended recipient.


Nelson Mandela wrote and spoke extensively about his background and childhood: whether about his experiences listening to adults solving problems or the two worlds he inhabited.

What the archive shows is Mr Mandela’s keen awareness of the tension between tradition and modernity, and his view that while he has learned from his rural background, he became a modern man.

He also wrote disparagingly about those who used their cultural mores to degrade others. He always urged that one respects tradition but that one should not allow it to determine one’s interaction with others.


When Nelson Mandela and his cousin Justice left their home at the Great Place in 1941 to escape arranged marriages they ended up at Crown Mines in Johannesburg. At the gate he asked a man he knew from home called Bikitsha to carry his suitcase.

A search by mine security guards revealed that wrapped inside some of his clothes in the suitcase was a loaded revolver which Mr Mandela’s father had left to him.

Around 30 to 40 years later South African historian Professor Charles van Onselen was browsing for “left of centre” second-hand books in a Johannesburg bookshop. There, he came across a copy of Eddie Roux’s book Time Longer Than Rope: The Black Man’s Struggle for Freedom in South Africa. The book was banned in South Africa at the time. Prof Van Onselen bought the book and took it home.

To his amazement, out dropped a picture of two young men – one of whom he immediately recognised as Robben Islander Nelson Mandela.

Mr Mandela then confirmed that the other person in the photo is the Bikitsha of the hidden gun saga.


Nelson Mandela began studying at university in 1939 at the University of Fort Hare where he graduated in 1942 with a BA.

In Johannesburg he enrolled at the University of the Witwatersrand and then when he was imprisoned in 1962 he started studying with London University. It was only in 1989, months before he was released from prison that he finally graduated – albeit in absentia – with an LLB degree.

But his time at Fort Hare was for him the most memorable. Here he was, a young man from the countryside getting the opportunity to study at what was then the most prestigious educational institutions for black people in Southern Africa.

He knew that studying there would help him to carve out a successful life despite the discrimination and hardships of being black in a race obsessed country. He was disappointed to find, as he writes in his original autobiographical manuscript, that what he learned was not directly relevant to the South African situation.


Perhaps one of the most defining moments of the life of Nelson Mandela was the death of his father Gadla Henry Mphakanyiswa because it meant that he had to be separated from his beloved mother and move in with the Regent who took him as his own son.

His life at the Royal residence, the Great Place at Mqhekezweni with Jongintaba Dalindyebo and his son Justice meant a life of privilege and opportunity. It meant that he would be educated at the best schools and enter university. It also meant that he was able to sit on the sidelines and watch as the Regent would meet with the community and listen to their problems before offering his own views.

These experiences made an enormous impact on the kind of man Nelson Mandela was to come. He opened his unpublished autobiographical manuscript with the death of his father.

Nelson Mandela underwent the traditional Xhosa rite of passage to manhood when he was 16 years of age. He was joined by 25 other youths for the process known as ‘initiation school’ on the banks of the river close to which he was born.

Initiation involved going away from home and living in the bush with the other youths. They received counselling and advice on becoming men and underwent circumcision to complete their transition.

During his Presidential years and beyond Mr Mandela would take delight in shocking some of his overseas male visitors by describing his circumcision in wincing detail.

A similar description he wrote in his unpublished autobiographical manuscript written on Robben Island in the 1970s.

Nelson Rolihlahla was raised by a king. After the death of his father Nkosi (Chief) Mphakanyiswa Mandela who acted as counsellor to the Thembu King, the child was sent to the royal palace or Great Place at Mqhekezweni. There he was guided and cared for by Jongintaba Dalindyebo, the Regent for the infant King Sabata. Under his watchful eye the young Mandela received a privileged upbringing and received the best education at that time. Hovering around when the Regent held court and dealt with disputes, the future leader learned about dialogue as well as hearing all sides of an argument before venturing his own opinion. These skills stood him in great stead in the years ahead.


While he was born in the Eastern Cape village of Mvezo, the only son of his father’s third wife, Nelson Mandela spend most of his early childhood in Qunu and later moved to Mqhekezweni after his father died. He has always enjoyed returning to Qunu where he built a house after his release from prison in 1990. Uppermost in his mind as a free man was to visit Qunu where his parents were laid to rest. His mother Nosekeni had died in her Seventies in 1968 when her son was imprisoned on Robben Island. As soon as he could, he visited her grave and that of his father Nkosi (Chief) Mphakanyiswa who had died when he was a boy.


Nelson Mandela always enjoyed telling the story of how dramatically the Xhosa poet Mqhayi had burst into his young world, shattering myths and inspiring him to see beyond the barriers he had taken for granted. His telling and retelling of this story was based on Mqhayi’s visit to his Methodist boarding school Healdtown where he was sent to finish his high school education. His account draws the listener into the late 1930s institution ruled over by the colonial figure of Dr Arthur Wellington, whom virtually no one would question – until onto the stage strode Mqhayi who showed his rapt audience how they were the most important of all people. Mr Mandela ends by explaining that he later did, however, learn that it was backward to be tribalistic.


Once Nelson Mandela had angered his guardian, the King, by getting himself expelled from the University College of Fort Hare, it was decided that the problem would be solved by an arranged marriage. He and Justice, his cousin and the king’s son, were presented with the plan: The King had found them both wives. It was this action on the King’s part that directly led to Mr Mandela’s exodus from the countryside and journey into the rapidly industrialising arms of the city of Johannesburg. It was there that he became interested in politics and set himself on the path to his destiny – overthrowing apartheid.

Credits: Story

Photographer — Ardon Bar Hama
Photographer — Matthew Willman
Reasearch & Curation — Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory Staff

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google