农民画家还是学者画家?

简介

老彼得·勃鲁盖尔被视为他那个时代最伟大的画家之一。在他生前,他的作品就大受追捧。1569年逝世以后,他的名声继续壮大。

然而,经过几个世纪,有关他的信息,流传下来的很少。我们几乎对他一无所知。不论是他的生活,他的艺术立场、政治立场或宗教立场,还是他生活过的地方或者他身边的人。只有他的作品流传下来(即四十多幅绘画,约六十幅图画,还有七十多幅版画素描)。

这位画家的神秘性及其作品的复杂性使得这位伟大人物留下许多不解之谜。

“农民勃鲁盖尔”之传说
第1章

公众对艺术家的认知往往随着时间推移而变化。我们与老勃鲁盖尔隔着将近五个世纪。二十一世纪初,他仍然被许多人视为农村大众场景或村庄大众场景画家。

这些场景画代表了勃鲁盖尔的作品在公众眼中的形象,例如,在《伯利恒的户口调查》中有个细节:一座布拉班特村庄的居民们在圣诞节前夜忙着筹备节日活动。

虽然“农民勃鲁盖尔”之传说长期以来就遭到历史学家的驳斥,它在公众的头脑中可谓根深蒂固。然而,这个传说流传甚广,相对来说,出自勃鲁盖尔之手,符合“农民勃鲁盖尔”传统形象的作品数量却非常之少。

这个传说之所以根深蒂固,有几个历史原因。
第一个原因是,勃鲁盖尔第一位传记作者卡勒尔·凡·曼德尔的描述。这位作家在1604年出版的著名的《画家之书》中一开始就把他描绘成“与农民打成一片”。

“勃鲁盖尔喜欢在弗兰克特陪同下,借着婚礼或集市的机会,拜访农民。两个人就像其他宾客一样,打扮成农民的样子,带着礼物,就像新婚夫妇的家人或者身边的人一样。勃鲁盖尔喜欢观察农民的风俗,他们用餐时的举止,他们的舞蹈,他们的游戏,他们献殷勤的方式,以及他们能够开的一切玩笑,并且画家能够敏感而幽默地再现这些场景。”

如此描述这位画家,在接下来几个世纪中极大影响了艺术业余爱好者及艺术史学家的观点。

这个传说经久不衰的第二个主要原因要从他的长子小彼得·勃鲁盖尔的绘画作品中寻找。后者复制了他父亲的许多画作,但几乎全是以农民生活为主题的作品,因此也促进了这个传说的流传。

这些复制品或许深深地扰乱了人们对这位弗拉芒大师的作品的认知——尽管老勃鲁盖尔的作品在他生前就已经成为公众很难接触到的欧洲私人藏品的一部分。因此,公众只能通过市场上流通的复制品来了解他的作品。

《有滑冰者和捕鸟器的冬景》便是一个例子。老勃鲁盖尔的这幅作品被他儿子复制了。如今统计,这幅风景画有不少于127件复制品散落于全世界,其中45件或许是小彼得·勃鲁盖尔画的!

如此多的复制品,自十六世纪末起就在市场上流通,大大促进了“勃鲁盖尔的艺术仅仅奉献给乡村世界”这个传说的建构,几个世纪以来,这个传说不断加强。

对这位艺术家的作品的认知令人大费笔墨。

专家们经常面临一个问题:应不应该认为其中包含一种对乡村世界的讽刺,一种拉开距离的描述,或者认为其中有一种人文主义的目光?

虽然乡村风格的讽刺画在十六世纪德国及低地国家是流行的场景画,但如今这个论点是不可接受的。通过他的描绘,勃鲁盖尔并未采取轻蔑或嘲笑的态度。虽然人们经常从中猜出一个讽刺点,他的作品主要表现了他对他愉快而幽默地描绘的这些农村生活场景的由衷热爱。其中一个例子是他那著名的《四季》组画(作为该组画一部分的《丰收》如今保存在纽约大都市博物馆)。

“学者勃鲁盖尔”之传说
第2章

相反的传说是,勃鲁盖尔几乎是学者。这个传说是通过当代研究者最近发表的著作而建构的。这些研究者把勃鲁盖尔介绍为一位非常博学的画家,他通过极其复杂的,可以作多层次解读的作品来表达自己的观点。

然而,也有多个迹象可以驳斥这种论点。一方面,有些历史学家发现他的画跋中存在多个拼写错误。另一方面,虽然事实上他非常亲近博学的人文主义者们,但是没有原始资料证实他跻身于当时有名的圈子。

因此,可以合理地认为,尽管不可否认他是个聪明人并且对他那个时代的传统和现实了如指掌,勃鲁盖尔却不是人们一致认为的博学艺术家。

这个问题也引起了专家们的争论,尤其是近几十年。事实上,在曼弗雷德·塞林克(新近一本关于这位画家的专著的作者,并且对他的画作了如指掌)看来,“多大程度上人们可以在勃鲁盖尔的作品中发现或多或少对政治现实或宗教现实的影射?”

许多专家认为勃鲁盖尔是有意通过自己的作品来评论他那个时代的现实。虽然这位弗拉芒大师的作品之复杂性可以作为这种解读的依据,但仍然缺乏原始资料可以证实真相,因此这种解读仍须谨慎考虑。

尤其是他的《对无辜者的大屠杀》。有些作者认为画中的红衣军队暗指阿尔巴公爵的西班牙军队或者摄政帕尔玛的玛格丽特的士兵,他们的任务是在1566年破坏圣像运动及接下来的异端叛乱之后恢复秩序。

正如曼弗雷德·塞林克所解释,“1560年代低地国家持续动荡的政治局势和宗教局势,尤其是对敢于发表反叛舆论之人的无情打击,总体来说,使得艺术生涯取决于他与行政精英阶层及金融精英阶层之联系并取决于他从这些精英阶层所接订单的艺术家必须保持谨慎:他肯定不敢对现实发表评论,不论是否遮遮掩掩。在为扬格林克、努瓦罗以及当然包括德·格兰维尔主教在内的这些订货人画的画中发现直接对既定秩序利益进行批判性影射,这将是令人惊讶的。”版画的传播受到当局监督,更是如此。

而且,在曼弗雷德·塞林克看来,“如果还有地方可以发现勃鲁盖尔对他所生活的世界的个人观点,那应该就是他那些未曾打算以版画形式传播的绘画”。即这位艺术家未公开发表的画作。

据卡勒尔·凡·曼德尔称,勃鲁盖尔或许在死前让妻子销毁了他的部分画作,“以免她因为它们而受苦。”这句话经常被捍卫“勃鲁盖尔批评他那个时代”这一论点的作者引用。

这些画作已不复存在,因此这位弗拉芒大师的思想难以解密。

结论
“如今,存在多种诠释,这加强了勃鲁盖尔在一个本身也是千变万化、自相矛盾的世纪中的现实性。” (Ph·罗伯茨-琼斯和F·罗伯茨-琼斯,1997年) 老勃鲁盖尔的国际性声望以及他的生活和艺术生涯的神秘性使得几个世纪以来产生了多种诠释。这些诠释有时搞乱了他的真实意图。然而,他的作品仍然如此复杂并且可以有多种解读。不幸的是,没有原始资料可以确认专家们的各种假说,因此,这些诠释,甚至其中最有诱惑力的诠释,都需要极其谨慎地考虑。 勃鲁盖尔传给我们的唯一确凿而无可否认的证据仍然是并且将永远是他的作品。正是他的神秘性使得他成为艺术史上最令人钦佩、最引人入胜的人物之一。
故事鸣谢名单:

编辑
Jennifer Beauloye

科学指导
Joost Vander Auwera

来源
Manfred Sellink, Bruegel : L'oeuvre complet, Peintures, dessins, gravures, Gand, Ludion, 2007.

致谢
Véronique Bücken, Joost Vander Auwera, Laurent Germeau, Pauline Vyncke, Lies van de Cappelle, Karine Lasaracina, Isabelle Vanhoonacker‎, Gladys Vercammen-Grandjean, Marianne Knop‎.

版权
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels
© KBR, Bruxelles
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels / photo : J. Geleyns / Ro scan
© The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
© Graphische Sammlung Albertina, Wien

所有参展内容的来源:
展出的故事有时可能由独立的第三方创作,并不完全代表以下提供这些内容的机构的观点。
使用 Google 进行翻译
首页
浏览作品
附近
个人资料

Peasant or scholar?

FOREWORD

Pieter Bruegel the Elder is considered to be one of the most important painters of his time. His works were already highly sought after during his own lifetime. His fame continued to grow long after his death in 1569.

However, over the centuries, we have been left with very little information about him. We know virtually nothing about Bruegel, about his life, his artistic, religious or political views, nor about the places he lived or the people around him. Only his works remain – 40 or so paintings, some 60 drawings and around 70 preparatory drawings for etchings.

The mystery surrounding the painter and the complexity of his work have led to numerous myths.

THE "BRUEGEL THE PEASANT" MYTH
CHAPTER 1.

The general public's perception of the artist changes frequently over time. Nearly five centuries separate us from Bruegel the Elder. In the early 21st century, many still believe him to be a painter of popular, peasant or village scenes.

Genre scenes are what come to mind most frequently when we think of Bruegel's work, as in this detail from The Census at Bethlehem where the inhabitants of a Brabant village go about their daily life on the night before Christmas.

While the "Bruegel the Peasant" myth has long since been disproved by historians, it persists in the minds of the general public. The number of Bruegel's works which fit this traditional image of "Bruegel the Peasant" is, however, relatively limited in comparison to the size of the myth.

Several historical reasons explain this lasting myth.
This first is the description published by Bruegel's first biographer, Karel van Mander. In his famous Schilder-Boeck, published in 1604, the writer describes Bruegel as being born "among the peasants".

"Accompanied by Franckert, Bruegel liked to visit the peasants, for weddings or fairs. The two men would dress as peasants and, like the other guests, would take presents and behave like they were part of the family or were guests of the bride or groom. Bruegel entertained himself watching the peasants' morals, their table manners, their dances, their games, their ways of courtship, and other entertaining things that they would indulge in, and that the painter knew how to reproduce, with much sensitivity and humour. »

This description of the painter would greatly influence the view that enthusiasts and art historians would hold of him over the following centuries.

The second key explanation for this myth's long-standing nature is found in the pictorial output of his oldest son, Pieter Brueghel the Younger. He had already reproduced a significant number of his father's paintings, but nearly all of them had peasant life as a dominant theme.

These copies later created considerable confusion in the perception of the Flemish master's work – even more so given that, already in his lifetime, Bruegel the Elder's works were part of private European collections that were relatively inaccessible to the public. The general public could only come to learn about his work through the copies on the market at the time.

The Winter Landscape with Skaters and Bird Trap is one such example. The work was originally painted by Bruegel the Elder and then copied by his son. But the story doesn't stop there! Today there are more than 127 known examples of this landscape spread throughout the world, of which 45 are thought to be painted by Pieter Brueghel the Younger.

These numerous copies which have been changing hands on the market since the end of the 16th century, strongly contribute to creating the myth that Bruegelian art is exclusively dedicated to the rural milieu, a myth which only got stronger over the centuries.

Much has been written about this perception of the artist.

Experts are often at odds over one question: can this be interpreted as a satirical view of the peasant world, a distanced description or is it possible to see it as a view influenced by humanism?

While satirical representation of peasant life was a popular genre in the 16th century in Germany and the Netherlands, this idea has now been dismissed as Bruegel does not take a disdainful or mocking stance in his work. Whilst his work does sometimes have hints of irony, it shows above all an intrinsic love for these scenes of peasant life which he paints with pleasure and humour. Like, for example, his famous cycle of the seasons, including The Harvesters, now held in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

THE "BRUEGEL THE SCHOLAR" MYTH
CHAPTER 2.

The opposite myth, that of an almost scholarly Bruegel, has been formed through recent publications by the current generation of researchers, who present Bruegel as a very erudite painter who expressed his opinions through highly complex work with several possible levels of interpretation.

However, this hypothesis is contradicted by many things. On the one hand, historians have identified spelling mistakes in the captions of his drawings. On the other hand, while he was in fact close to erudite humanist networks, no source places him in the known circles of the time.

It is thus reasonable to think that, while doubtless intelligent and an expert on the traditions and goings on of his time, Bruegel was not what one would commonly call an erudite artist.

Over the last decades, this issue has also been the subject of great debate between specialists. Indeed, Manfred Sellink, author of a recent monograph about Bruegel and expert on his drawings, asked himself "to what extent can we see in Bruegel's work allusions to contemporary political and religious events, hidden to a greater or lesser extent?”

Numerous experts think Bruegel intended to use his work to comment on the events of his time. Whilst this interpretation is supported by the complexity of the Flemish master's work, it must be approached with care as there are no sources to prove this thesis.

Such is the case for his Massacre of the Innocents. Some authors see his soldiers dressed in red as references to the Spanish troops of the Duke of Alba or the soldiers of the regent Margaret of Parma whose objective was to restore calm following the iconoclastic attacks in 1566 and the subsequent heretical revolts.

As Manfred Sellink explains "the turbulent political and religious situation in the Low Countries in the 1560s and, in particular, the merciless response received by those who dared voice rebellious opinions, must have generally speaking encouraged caution in an artisan whose career depending on contacts with the ruling and financial elite, and he was not short of commissions: he certainly was not encouraged to make comment, hidden or not, on the events of the time. It would be surprising to find critical allusions in direct contradiction to the established order in works belonging to painters such as Jonghelink, Noirot and certainly the Cardinal de Granvelle."

This was even more true for prints whose dissemination was closely supervised by the authorities.

Manfred Sellink also mentioned that "if there is still a place where we can find Bruegel's personal point of view on the world in which he lived, it should be in the pieces of work that weren't destined to be disseminated as prints". That's to say, the artist's non-published drawings.

According to Karel van Mander, Bruegel ordered his wife to destroy some of his work upon his death, "in the fear that she would suffer as a consequence". This sentence is often referenced by authors who defend the hypothesis of "Bruegel the critic of his time".

As these drawings no longer exist, it is difficult to decipher the Flemish master's mindset.

CONCLUSION
"The large number of interpretations demonstrates how relevant Bruegel is today, in a century which is also multifaceted and contradictory"  (Ph. and F. Roberts-Jones, 1997) Bruegel the Elder's international renown and the mystery surrounding his life and career have led to the creation of numerous interpretations over the centuries. These have sometimes reshaped his original intentions. Given the lack of sources to confirm experts’ hypotheses, even the most convincing of interpretations are to be approached with caution. The only proven and indisputable evidence left by Bruegel is, and will always be, his work. It is precisely the fact that he is enshrouded in mystery that makes him one of the most marvellous and intriguing characters in the history of art. 
Credits: Story

COORDINATION & TEXT
Jennifer Beauloye

SCIENTIFIC OVERSIGHT
Joost Vander Auwera

SOURCE
Manfred Sellink, Bruegel : L'oeuvre complet, Peintures, dessins, gravures, Gand, Ludion, 2007.

THANKS GO TO
Véronique Bücken, Joost Vander Auwera, Laurent Germeau, Pauline Vyncke, Lies van de Cappelle, Karine Lasaracina, Isabelle Vanhoonacker‎, Gladys Vercammen-Grandjean, Marianne Knop‎.

CREDITS
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels
© KBR, Bruxelles
© Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Brussels / photo : J. Geleyns / Ro scan
© The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
© Graphische Sammlung Albertina, Wien

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile