1968年5月

1968 年五月風暴與歷史學家

論口述歷史

議題

 

由艾格妮絲‧凱魯 (Agnès Callu) 所編撰的書籍《Le Mai 68 des historiens : entre identités narratives et histoire orale》(1968 年五月風暴與歷史學家:敘事認同與口述歷史之間) 於 2010 年出版。這本書根據特定團體 (大部分是歷史學家) 的口述經歷,藉此探究「1968 年五月風暴」對於後來的研究工具、歷史重建和知識傳遞理論體系的運作等所產生的影響。不論這些親身經歷是以錄音傳記或透過影像記錄下來,藉著分析這些內容,本書旨在透過「知識份子」的口述回顧,解開這些事件對於後來許多重要變革所蘊涵的影響。書中深入探討了個人和整體的社會化現象、社會想像如何與特定的人物或世代族群產生密不可分的糾葛、歷史學家詮釋和政治化參考框架的匯流、大學和高等教育的變革,以及 1970 年代定義或重新定義社會科學認知和運用的道德標準。

方法:一本由研討會衍生的著作

 

就本質而言,這本書是一份研討會成果報告。研討會的出發點是由「1968 年五月風暴」和以社會學角度探討歷史學家使用的符號系統所構成的雙議題。本書就社會歷史、史學和方法論三個層面,提供了反思和運用的架構定義。在研討會中,學者們追溯了方法 (口述歷史) 和主題 (1968 年五月風暴) 共同發展的過程;不僅透過法國及國際視野檢視這項學科日趨大眾化及同化的軌跡,同時也檢視了這項主題從單一新聞事件蛻變為史學研究議題的歷程。接著為了探討「干擾」的想法,我們針對這個領域採取了下列方法:透過親身見證過這些事件的歷史學家以口述歷史的方法呈現「1968 年五月風暴」,我們有可能瞭解這段歷史的全貌嗎?

引述自雅克·勒高夫 (Jacques Le Goff)

「[…] 1968 那一年我 40 歲。每一場集會我都沒缺席。我並沒有站在第一線的路障前,但如果當時我只有 20 歲,我很可能會這麼做。不管如何,我總是會現身參與。如果換作是我,我想我也會感受到那摻雜著同情、希望和欺騙的複雜情緒。我並不希望 1968 年自己是一個 20 歲的年輕人,但當時我確實感到熱血沸騰,彷彿少年一般 [...]」

引述自雅克·迪帕基耶 (Jacques Dûpaquier)

「[…] 對我來說,歷史就像一桶火藥,問題在於我們不知道是否有人會在這桶火藥上點著一根菸或劃出一道火花。換句話說,這個事件在我看來就像釋放深層力量的引信。當下,我感到每個社會都是脆弱的。每個社會都處於革命前的狀態,而問題不僅是瞭解人們為了何事爆發,更要探究的是他們為何可以隱忍如此之久... 社會脆弱的本質毫無保留地攤在我眼前。這讓我大受影響,後來我不僅放棄了馬克思主義,也不再相信以宿命論解讀歷史的概念 […]」

雖為一體,人人獨特

集體認同隨即成為議題焦點。不分流派和學科,透過「歷史學家」這個標籤和隨著社會儀式、工作習慣、智能模式而結合的共同體共同領導團體運作會是何種樣貌?但後來,引起我們興趣的卻是個人。就普遍的層面來看,我們對下列面向感到好奇:這個人的生命旅程是一帆風順或崎嶇坎坷;我們何時開始檢視天職呼召或社會化職業的意義、宿命論和自由論的對比、由法國的「高等學院」(Grandes Ecoles) 體制所產生的有效成功模式,相對也檢視因大學制度的弱點或壁壘而遭到淘汰的重要職位。最後另我們感興趣的是,在變動劇烈的世界中,這些人對於劇變所展現的抗拒或隨遇而安。因此很自然就產生了所謂的菁英歷史,一部由專家、「學者團體」、「口述歷史主角」和知識份子構築的歷史。這些人如果不全然是決策者,至少也是認為知識份子的潛力和/或組織的概念與個人本質上是相同的人。接著,我們在深入探究後發現,這項分析有兩個子群組特別引起注意。第一個群組主要成員是「戰後嬰兒潮」世代,針對這個族群的分析促成了下列交叉研究:其中一項是針對憲章學校 (École des Chartes)、其教學方法及核心原則的高等教育機構制度研究;而另一項則是針對 1968 年的知識青年訴求改革所進行的社會研究;不論是否熱衷於政治,或是採取靜態或抗爭手段,都是研究對象。 針對第二個群組的分析則擴張了研究頻譜:其間訪問了高等師範學校 (École normale supérieure) 的學生和/或選擇不同體系及來自不同背景的大學生,特別是生於不同世代、於 1922-1935 年間出生的對象。這個年齡群組的共同特徵是經歷過劇烈震撼,仍存留著第一次世界大戰的傷痛記憶、第二次世界大戰的創傷以及受到阿爾及利亞辯論所觸動的道德良知。

雙重參考框架:

當文化和口述歷史結合,不偏不倚,不分主從,就成為我們研究主題時最仰賴的知識寶庫。

文化歷史

「68 和歷史學家」計劃期望捕捉文化歷史的面向,也就是藉由質疑社會團體中的「知識份子」所呈現的文化象徵社會史。這項議題的本質是一項耙梳的工作,我們必須從故事寶庫中抽絲剝繭,瞭解歷史學家的生命軌跡,特別是 1968 年前後的「學派繼承人」或未受社會文化影響扭曲的學者。從人物研究角度切入,每個人同意以口述方式呈現這段「傳記式冒險」,從獨具特色的個人社會起源提供了自身經驗的回顧,但同時也依據所處的社會團體為整體資訊做出貢獻,例如其歷史著作、口述歷史與科學驗證方法所搭起的橋樑、支持口述呈現的創造過程,以及有利於口述內容分析取向 (有時為政治化) 之思維工具的發展過程。

口述歷史

「68 和歷史學家」計劃目標是運用口述歷史創造訪談語料庫。這項計劃主張以科學方法使用目睹事件的歷史學家和年輕歷史學家之間的雙向互動對話。如此一來,「年長者/專家學者」的組合即可視為有效的憑據,在對話過程中,雙方口述合作的內容便能構築出包含共同體驗和分析的證詞。這項計劃願承擔採信實地訪談內容風險,同時承認異己觀點的存在,卻也因此可以擺脫普遍認為至高無上的書面文字束縛,聆聽「他者」(OTHER) 的聲音。「他者」與源頭的本質相同;「他者」就是故事的靈魂,與聲音密不可分但又超越「自我」(SELF);「他者」描述一段自身旅程;「他者」賦予故事情感,同時表現一項或多項傾向。簡單地說,這是「他者」現今對當時感受的意見發表。

因此,這項計劃期望為評論學製造、形塑及提供一個史料庫,不僅是以回顧方式所構成,而是以視聽向量呈現的。這項做法本身就值得以許多認識論問題加以探究。

引述自雅克·理維爾

「[…] 在 50 年代末期到 70 年代初期這段時間,所有社會科學之間的關係產生劇變。究盡原因何在? 社會科學在法國的發展相對較晚,而且是處於學術界的邊陲地帶。可以這麼說,這是因為社會科學在 60 年代得以「獨立自治」的結果。當時社會科學經歷制度化,社會學、人種學和語言學等學位也因應而生;同時也因為當時社會科學抓住了短暫的結構主義思想,而這套思想和認知在本質上對歷史學家是很反感的。對我個人而言,我常說結構主義其實也是社會科學去殖民化過程的奮戰,為要擺脫國家歷史的影響。因為在法國,社會科學長久以來都受到歷史主宰。這也是法國巴黎高等研究院 (École des Hautes Études) 最初創設時的光景:重視歷史,輕忽社會科學 [...]」

故事協力單位/參與人員

- Agnès Callu, chercheur associé au CNRS (IHTP)
- Patrick Dubois, réalisateur multimédia
- Voir, Agnès Callu (dir.) , "Le Mai 68 des historiens", Villeneuve d'Ascq, Presses universitaires du Septentrion, 2010
- Agnès Callu, chercheur associé au CNRS (IHTP)
- Patrick Dubois, réalisateur multimédia
- Voir, Agnès Callu (dir.) , "Le Mai 68 des historiens", Villeneuve d'Ascq, Presses universitaires du Septentrion, 2010

所有媒體協力單位/參與人員
在某些情況下,精選故事可能是由獨立的第三方製作,並不代表下列展覽機構的意見與觀點。
使用 Google 進行翻譯
首頁
探索
附近
簡介

May 1968

May 68 and historians

Regarding oral history

The issue

 

The book – Agnès Callu (ed.), "Le Mai 68 des historiens : entre identités narratives et histoire orale" (May 68 and historians: between narrative identities and oral history) – published in 2010 and based on the spoken experiences of a particular group, mainly historians, aims to explore the legacy of May 1968 on research tools, the operation of historical renewing and knowledge transmitting schemes. By analyzing the content of these testimonies, either recorded biographies or in some cases captured in image, it aims to decipher the retrospective discourses offered by "intellectuals" about the impact of these events which led to many important changes. It explores the phenomena of socialization in depth, at both individual and collective levels, how the social imaginaries cling to certain figures or generational groups, the convergences between the interpretations of historians and politicized frames of references, changes introduced in universities and higher education, and the codes that defined or redefined the perception and appropriation of social sciences in the 1970s.

The method: a book based on a seminar

 

At its roots (based on the dual issue of May 68 and the sociology of symbolic systems among historians), this book serves as a progress report for a research seminar that has defined the frameworks for reflection and use at a socio-historical, historiographical and methodological level. The seminar retraced the co-development of a method (oral history) and a subject (May 68) in such a way as to examine the path, both in a French and an international context, taken by a discipline that has been massified and acculturated, as well as to examine the historiography of a subject which moves from being a part of the news to being of interest to historians. Then the idea of interference was examined and the method was applied to the domain – is it possible to understand May 68 through oral history when it is told by historians who were themselves witnesses to the events?

Quotation from Jacques Le Goff

"[…] In 68, I was 40 years old. I went to every meeting. I wasn't at the barricades, but I might have gone if I had been 20. In any case, I was always there. I think I would have felt the same mixture of sympathy, hope and deception. I wouldn't have wanted to be 20 in 1968, but I felt invigorated then, as though I were a youngster [...]"

Quotation from Jacques Dûpaquier

" […] To me, history seemed like a barrel of gunpowder and the problem was knowing if someone was going to light a cigarrette or a spark on this barrel. In other words, the event seemed to me like a trigger for deeper forces. At this time, I felt that every society was very fragile. Every society was in a pre-revolutionary state and the problem wasn't just knowing why they had exploded but also how they were able to endure it for so long... The fragility of society was really apparent to me. So this effectively led me to give up not only on Marxism but also on any deterministic conception of history […]"

One corpus, many individuals

Collective identity became an issue. What about the label "historian" and the reality of a potential community united by social rituals, working habits, intellectual models that would collectively lead groups, regardless of schools of thought and disciplines? Then, it is the individual that becomes of interest. At a global level, in one's passage through life, whether a straight or a curved path, when we start to question real or reconstructed vocations, the antithesis of determinism versus contingency, the implacable effectiveness of programmed success when it is the result of the French system known as the "Grandes Ecoles", and in contrast the removal of key positions borne from university failings or barriers, and finally the resistance or perhaps inertia to shake-ups in a changing world. Thus the proactive decision is made for a so-called elite history, one of experts, "knowledgeable parties", "men of their word", intellectuals, if not always the decision-makers then at least those for whom the potential of intellectual and/or organizational conception is consubstantial to the individual. Then, delving deeper, the analysis favors two sub-groups. The evaluation of the first group, comprising mainly of "baby boomers", enabled the crossover study: an institutional study of a higher educational establishment, the École des Chartes, its teaching methods, its core principles; the other study was a social study in 1968 of intellectual youth, either politically active or not, static, in rebellion, reforming. The analysis of the second group opens the spectrum: interviewing students from an "École normale supérieure" and/or university students following other models, from different backgrounds, in particular those from a different generation, those from 1922-1935, who can be defined by the succession of shocks endured by an age group broken by memories of the Great War, the traumas of the Second World War and the spasms of conscience owing to the Algeria debate.

A double framework of reference:

Cultural and oral history, when combined, without the hegemony of one over the other or the subjection of one by the other, are intentionally referred to as important knowledge hubs for the study of a subject.

Cultural history

The "68 and historians" project claims to pursue cultural history, that is the social history of representations by questioning the "intellectuals" within a social group. The issue is presented as work to be carried out on a corpus of stories offering the trajectories of historians, "heirs" or not of socio-cultural distortions prior or post 68. Individuals, approached from a prosopographical perspective, agreeing to the verbalization of the "biographical gamble", provide an account of their experiences marked by their individual sociogenesis, but providing information collectively, based on the social group, on the historical works, the partnership that it forms with the credits of scientificity, the creative processes that sustain it and the development of conceptual devices, sometimes political, that favor its analytical approach.

Oral history

The "68 and historians" project aims to utilize oral history to create a corpus of interviews. It asserts that it wants to use, in a scientific manner, the consensual dialogue between historian-witnesses and young historians so that the "elder/expert" pairing is perceived as valid, when conversationally, the two-voice partnership builds a witness account of shared experiences and analyses. The project takes risks as it places confidence in field interviews. So, it recognizes the principle of alterity so that it can break free of the constraints of the written word, which is often deemed insurmountable, to listen to the OTHER. The OTHER, consubstantial to the source, the OTHER, the soul of the account in which it is entangled by its voice but beyond its SELF, the OTHER describing a journey, its own journey, the OTHER delivering emotions, expressing one or many tendencies, in short, the OTHER is revealing its opinion today of what it felt back then.

Therefore, the project claims to manufacture, shape and bring forth for criticism an archive, that has not only been formed retrospectively, but which has arrived by way of a vector, audiovisuals, which is itself subject to many epistemological questions. 

Quotation from Jacques Revel

"[…] Between the end of the 50s and the start of the 70s, the relationship between all the social sciences changed dramatically. Why? Because in France, social sciences developed relatively late and more at the periphery of the academic world, and because they became, if we can say this, autonomous during the 60s, because they had undergone institutionalization – there was a degree in sociology, there was a degree in ethnology, there was a degree in linguistics, etc. – and also because they found their momentary ideology which was structuralism, an ideology and epistemology that were profoundly anti-historian. Personally, I have often said that structuralism was also a kind of fight regarding the decolonization of social sciences in relation to the history of a country where, for a long time, social sciences had been dominated by history, and this was how the École des Hautes Études was built with history at its center and social sciences at the periphery [...]"

Credits: Story

- Agnès Callu, chercheur associé au CNRS (IHTP)
- Patrick Dubois, réalisateur multimédia
- Voir, Agnès Callu (dir.) , "Le Mai 68 des historiens", Villeneuve d'Ascq, Presses universitaires du Septentrion, 2010
- Agnès Callu, chercheur associé au CNRS (IHTP)
- Patrick Dubois, réalisateur multimédia
- Voir, Agnès Callu (dir.) , "Le Mai 68 des historiens", Villeneuve d'Ascq, Presses universitaires du Septentrion, 2010

Credits: All media
The story featured may in some cases have been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile