"The Big Three" at the Yalta Conference

US government photographer1945-02-04/1945-02-11

Polish History Museum

Polish History Museum
Warszawa, Poland

The Yalta Conference (February 4th to 11th 1945), also known as the Crimea Conference – a meeting of leaders of the anti-Hitler coalition (so called “Big Three”): the USSR leader Joseph Stalin, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill and the US president Delano Roosevelt. It was one of the conferences of the big three, after the Teheran Conference (November-December 1943), and before the Potsdam Conference (July-August 1945). They met on many conferences, but those where the three where the most important decisions were made.
It was conducted in the Livadia Palace owned by the Potocki family, outside Yalta, Crimea. The decisions made there outlined the post-war shape of Europe
Original caption: "Conference of the Big Three at Yalta makes final plans for the defeat of Germany. Here the "Big Three" sit on the patio together, Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Premier Josef Stalin. Behind them stand, from the left, Field Marshal Sir Alan Brooke, Fleet Admiral Ernest King, Fleet Admiral William D. Leahy, General of the Army George Marshall, Major General Laurence S. Kuter, General Aleksei Antonov, Vice Admiral Stepan Kucherov, and Admiral of the Fleet Nikolay Kuznetsov"


  • Title: "The Big Three" at the Yalta Conference
  • Creator: US government photographer
  • Date: 1945-02-04/1945-02-11
  • Location: Yalta, Ukraine
  • Contributor: US Department of Defense
  • Original Source: US Department of Defense
  • Credit: US Department of Defense
  • Collection: Andrzej Bobkowski

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps