The First Ten

This gallery depicts the first ten presidents of the United States. I found it intriguing that most of the artwork was very similar despite being painted by various artists. All of these paintings are portraits and with the exception of one (Martin Van Buren), they are all looking off to the side. On closer inspection, one will also observe that the paintings include hues of red, white, and blue.

#1. George Washington (1789-1797)
#2. John Adams (1797-1801)
#3. Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)
#4. James Madison (1809-1817)
#5. James Monroe (1817-1825)
#6. John Quincy Adams (1825-1829)
#7. Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)
#8. Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)
#9. William Henry Harrison (1841)
#10. John Tyler (1841-1845)
Credits: All media
This user gallery has been created by an independent third party and may not always represent the views of the institutions, listed below, who have supplied the content.
Translate with Google