University of Pretoria Museums

University of Pretoria Museums
Pretoria, South Africa

The University of Pretoria (UP) Museums are located in the beautiful Jacaranda City Capital of Pretoria in South Africa. The UP Museums steward a 110-year tradition of the institution's finest collections and archives, curating some of South Africa's finest art, ceramic, sculpture as well as the national treausure of the Mapungubwe Collection. These iconic collections and archives are housed within ten galleries within two historical buildings, the Old Arts Building (1910) and the Old Merensky Building (1937) and dotted across the Hatfield Campus landscape of the Univeristy of Pretoria.

The University of Pretoria Museums are members of the International Council of Museums (ICOM), the International Council of Museums Committee for Conservation (ICOM-CC) and the International Council of Museums Committee for University Museums and Collections (UMAC) and the South African Museums Association (SAMA).

Our mission is to strive to be innovative, inspirational and progressive leaders as the university museum of quality and choice.

Our vision is for the University of Pretoria Museums actively curate the collective memory of the institution’s collections and archives for the purposes of conservation, wider engagement, interpretation and research in order for society to enjoy and access our creative spaces and galleries.

Show lessRead more

9 stories

View All

In this collection

View All

1,052 items

University of Pretoria MuseumsUniversity of Pretoria
Corner Lynnwood Road and Roper Street
Hatfield, Pretoria
South Africa
South Africa
Visit University of Pretoria Museums's website
Google apps