Six forms of Avalokitesvara, a bodhisattva, are depicted: Cintamani Chakra Avalokitesvara in the middle, surrounded clockwise by Aarya Avalokitesvara, Sahasrabhuja Arya Avalokitesvara, Hayagriva Avalokitesvara, Wkadasamukha Avalokitesvara, and Cundi Avalokitesvara (Amoghapasha Avalokitesvara). The Six Avalokitesvaras originates from the belief that all life forms repeat a cycle of birth, death, and rebirth going through six degrees of existence and that one Avalokitesvara saves life forms lost in each of the six. Insho expressed his original view of Buddhism with delicate lines and nuanced shading.


  • Title: Six Avalokitesvaras (Kanzenon)
  • Creator: Domoto Insho
  • Date: 1937
  • Physical Dimensions: w140 x h185 cm
  • Type: Pigment on silk, framed

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps