Originally known as Shahul Hamid Durgha and dedicated to the memory of a holy man, Shahul Hamid of Nagore, the former shrine was built by Chulias from southern India between 1828 and 1830. On the upper part of the façade are niches, where oil lamps can be placed within them to illuminate the building on festive days. It was gazetted as a National Monument in 1974.

For more photos of Telok Ayer conservation area, please click here.


  • Title: 140 Telok Ayer Street
  • Date Created: 1975

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps