Pakistan (Monetary System and Reserve Bank) Order, 1947 was issued on 14th August 1947 by the Governor General of undivided India, the day before partition. Under this order, the Reserve Bank of India was to be common currency authority for India and Pakistan until 30th September 1948. The order also allowed for notes issued by the Reserve Bank of India and the Government of India to be inscribed with “Government of Pakistan” in Urdu and English, and placed into circulation from 1st April, 1948 under the responsibility of Government of Pakistan. The modified notes of the Reserve Bank of India in the denominations of 2, 5, 10, and 100 Rupees were introduced as planned, along with modified 1 rupee notes of the Government of India. The modifications were two inscriptions on the front of notes. At the top of the white area “GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN” in English, while at the bottom Urdu rendition of the same phrase i.e. “Hakumat-e-Pakistan”. These inscriptions due to modifications in the printing plates they were not “overprints”. All other details were same as their counterparts.


  • Title: British India Banknotes
  • Date Created: 1947
  • Physical Location: State Bank Museum & Art Gallery

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps