Loading

This microscope has a tube with a consistent diameter, and the eyepiece and lens at the ends. It slides under friction inside another thin tube to enable coarse focusing. The center also has a magnifying glass with an articulated arm. Both tubes are supported by an arm that extends from the top of the quadrangular pillar. The hinge between the tubes bears the manufacturer's name: "Nachet et fils. Rue Serpente, 16. Paris." Fine focus is achieved with a micrometric screw system consisting of a long iron bar inserted into the center of the pillar, onto which a spring is placed. As the micrometric screw is tightened, it forces the tube to descend, and when the screw is loosened, the tube rises. The rectangular stage has a central hole to let light pass through. It sits on a barrel containing the convex mirror, which can move freely thanks to side screws.

Camille Sebastian Nachet (1799–1881) was a French optician who began his career working for the microscope manufacturer Chevalier. He later set up his own business. Between 1856 and 1862 its headquarters were at 16 Rue Serpente in Paris. Camille worked with his son Alfred, as this model's inscription states.

Details

  • Title: Compound microscope
  • Provenance: Microscopio procedente de la "Colección Bruni”, la cual consta de casi 80 microscopios correspondientes a los siglos XVIII, XIX y XX que fueron recolectados por el Doctor Blas Bruni Celli y donados por su hija Maria Eugenia Bruni a la RANM en 2016.
  • Type: Microscope
  • Rights: Ana Suela
  • Medium: Metal, glass

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps