The carved back of this double bass is made of maple, like the sides. The sound board comprises two spruce boards. The maple headstock seems to have been processed along with the lute maker Erminio Farina. Information on the label states that this double bass was built "at Antonio Monzino and Figli’s company in via Rastrelli 10, Milan". After the apprenticeship period in his father Gaetano’s (1825-1897) workshop, and work experience in Nice in the late 19th century, Riccardo Antoniazzi worked with his brother Romeo for the company Leandro Bisiach, in Venegono, from 1901 to 1904. That year marked the beginning of the partnership with the Monzino company, which drew to a close in 1912. At the Monzino company he directed activities in the String Instruments Department.