Loading

Hiroshima Prefectural Industrial Promotion Hall now called the A-bomb Dome

1935/1935

Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum

Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum
Hiroshima, Japan

The structure now called the A-bomb Dome was designed by Czech architect Jan Letzel. It was completed on April 5, 1915 and opened on August 5 of that year as the Hiroshima Prefectural Commercial Exhibition Hall. Its name was changed to the Hiroshima Prefectural Products Exhibition Hall in 1921, and finally to the Hiroshima Prefectural Industrial Promotion Hall in 1933. In addition to displaying and selling prefectural products, it was also used for art shows and other expositions. As the war intensified, however, it housed a number of government agencies.

Details

  • Title: Hiroshima Prefectural Industrial Promotion Hall now called the A-bomb Dome
  • Date: 1935/1935
  • Location: Sarugaku-cho
  • Contributor: Courtesy of Shigemi Hamamoto  Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum collection

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps