Loading

Livery stable in Troy. Horses and men stand in front of the building. N. R. Shepherd & Stoops were managers, though some remembered Jones and Shepherd as owners. Around 1910 one could hire a horse or a car, and by 1919 space on the lot was rented to owners of cars. The structure stood empty in 1924. The building was used for basketball and at one time had a bowling alley. It was condemned by the city in May of 1928. The Troy firefighters set it on fire to practice firefighting skills. Later the site became the city park, then the post office. (History of Troy, Stella E. Johnson)

Details

  • Title: Livery Stable
  • Date Created: 1920/1925
  • Location: Troy, ID
  • Subject Keywords: Horses, Livery, Stable, Windows, Dirt street, Troy
  • Rights: Copyright, Latah County Historical Society Collections. All Rights reserved, contact the Latah County Historical Society for reproduction information.
  • LCHS Object ID: 15-03-017

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps