Morning Of The Earth Surf Film Soundtrack Vinyl LP

G Wayne Thomas & various artists1971

Australian National Surfing Museum

Australian National Surfing Museum
Torquay, Australia

Alby Falzon's 1972 surf movie Morning Of The Earth is seen by many as Australia's greatest surf film. Falzon secured a grant from the Australian Film Development Corporation of $20,000 to produce the film, enlisting David Elfick as co-producer and together they crafted a beautiful rootsy surfing film. Steering clear of traditional cheesy narration, the surfing footage was accompanied by a perfectly matched soundtrack, produced by G Wayne Thomas. The film neatly captured surfing's early 1970s "country soul" era, as surfers sought to live with nature and surf without interference. The leading Australian surfers of the era feature in the film, most notably Michael Peterson and Terry Fitzgerald, with the whole thing being artfully shot and produced. The soundtrack (this is the 12-inch vinyl album cover) from the film sold well and many memorable songs feature on it, like Simple Ben (John J Francis), Sure Feels Good (Brian Cadd), plus Open Up Your Heart and Morning Of The Earth (G Wayne Thomas). Terry Hannagan, Tamam Shud also feature on the album.


  • Title: Morning Of The Earth Surf Film Soundtrack Vinyl LP
  • Creator: G Wayne Thomas & various artists
  • Date Created: 1971

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps