Photo: Hans Gerritsen
On this photo: Jennifer Hanna, Paul Lightfoot

Choreographer: Jiří Kylián

Jiří Kylián created this ballet for the Salzburg Festival in 1991. For this work, he chose to cut and rework parts of Mozart's most famous piano concertos. “This deliberate choice should not be seen as a provocation or thoughtlessness - rather as my way to acknowledge the fact that I am living and working as part of a world where nothing is sacred, where brutality and arbitrariness are common places. It should convey the idea of two antique torsos, heads and limbs cut off - evidence of intended mutilation - without being able to destroy their beauty reflecting the spiritual power of their creator." - Jiří Kylián


  • Title: Petite Mort
  • Date Created: 1991
  • Rights: Hans Gerritsen
  • Choreographer: Jiří Kylián
  • Music: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Piano Concerto in A Major (KV 488), Adagio Piano Concerto in C Major (KV 467), Andante
  • Light: Joop Caboort
  • Decor: Jiří Kylián
  • Costumes: Joke Visser
  • World Premiere: August 23, 1991, Kleines Festspielhaus, Salzburg

Additional Items

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more


Google apps