Loading

This plaque was for the royal library, Gyujanggak, and the calligraphy was written by King Sukjong. Gyujanggak was originally founded in 1694, the 20th year of King Sukjong’s reign, as a small building in the Bureau of Royal Records to preserve the writings and handwritings of the kings. In 1776, when King Jeongjo was crowned, a new building for the Royal Library was constructed in the backyard of Changdeokgung Palace, Palace of Illustrious Virtue, and its role was expanded as an academic and policy research organization as well as the royal library.

Details

  • Title: Plaque of the Royal Library
  • Date Created: 1694
  • Rights: National palace museum of Korea
  • Medium: Plaque

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps