Loading

Plaque of the Royal Library

1694

National Palace Museum of Korea

National Palace Museum of Korea

This plaque was for the royal library, Gyujanggak, and the calligraphy was written by King Sukjong. Gyujanggak was originally founded in 1694, the 20th year of King Sukjong’s reign, as a small building in the Bureau of Royal Records to preserve the writings and handwritings of the kings. In 1776, when King Jeongjo was crowned, a new building for the Royal Library was constructed in the backyard of Changdeokgung Palace, Palace of Illustrious Virtue, and its role was expanded as an academic and policy research organization as well as the royal library.

Show lessRead more
  • Title: Plaque of the Royal Library
  • Date Created: 1694
  • Rights: National palace museum of Korea
  • Medium: Plaque

Recommended

Home
Explore
Nearby
Profile