Sheet music

Frank Howard (composer) and Chicago Lithographing Co. Chicago (engraver)1869

National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center
Philadelphia, PA, United States

The full title of this sheet music is "We'll Show You When We Come to Vote: The Great Woman's Suffrage Song & Chorus." Published in Ohio, the piece was dedicated to the wife of Ohio Representative James Ashley, known as the author of the 13th Amendment which abolished slavery. The lyrics declare: "Sad is the life of womankind / Trod under foot we’ve always been / But when we vote, you soon will find / That we’ll fix these terrible men.”



  • Title: Sheet music
  • Creator: Frank Howard (composer), Chicago Lithographing Co. Chicago (engraver)
  • Date Created: 1869
  • Location Created: Toledo, Ohio
  • Publisher: W.W. Whitney's "Palace of Music"
  • Rights: Collection of Ronnie Lapinsky Sax

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps