Six Avalokitesvaras (Kanzenon)

Inshō Dōmoto1937

Kyoto Prefectural Domoto-Insho Museum of Fine Arts

Kyoto Prefectural Domoto-Insho Museum of Fine Arts
Kyoto, Japan

Six forms of Avalokitesvara, a bodhisattva, are depicted: Cintamani Chakra Avalokitesvara in the middle, surrounded clockwise by Aarya Avalokitesvara, Sahasrabhuja Arya Avalokitesvara, Hayagriva Avalokitesvara, Wkadasamukha Avalokitesvara, and Cundi Avalokitesvara (Amoghapasha Avalokitesvara). The Six Avalokitesvaras originates from the belief that all life forms repeat a cycle of birth, death, and rebirth going through six degrees of existence and that one Avalokitesvara saves life forms lost in each of the six. Insho expressed his original view of Buddhism with delicate lines and nuanced shading.

Show lessRead more
  • Title: Six Avalokitesvaras (Kanzenon)
  • Creator: Domoto Insho
  • Date: 1937
  • Physical Dimensions: w140 x h185 cm
  • Type: Pigment on silk, framed