The Australasian Federation Conference


National Archives of Australia

National Archives of Australia
CANBERRA, Australia

The Australasian Federation Conference, Melbourne, February 1890, at which the parliaments of all the colonies were represented, including New Zealand.

Standing: The Hon AI Clark MP (Tasmania); Captain Russell MP, Colonial Secretary (New Zealand); Sir Samuel Griffith KCMG, MP (Queensland); Sir Henry Parkes KCMG, MP (New South Wales); The Hon T Playford MP (South Australia); The Hon Alfred Deakin MP, Chief Secretary (Victoria); The Hon Stafford Bird MP, Treasurer (Tasmania); Mr GH Jenkins, Secretary to the Conference.

Seated: The Hon William McMillan, Colonial Treasurer (New South Wales); Sir John Hall KCMG, MP (New Zealand); The Hon JM Macrossan MP, Colonial Secretary (Queensland); The Hon Duncan Gillies MP, Premier of Victoria and Chairman of the Conference; The Hon Sir John Cockburn MP (South Australia); Sir James Lee-Steere MP, Speaker (Western Australia).


  • Title: The Australasian Federation Conference
  • Date Created: 1890
  • Location: Melbourne, Victoria
  • External Link: Find out more - click here
  • Citation: NAA: A1200, L13363

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps