Loading

Apart from the cellar, a few parts of the ground floor and the staircase tower, the Pellerhaus was almost entirely destroyed during the air raids of World War II. The high cost of rebuilding in full led that option to be abandoned at an early stage; only the arched walls were preserved, up to and including the first floor above the ground. In 1957, these were incorporated into Fritz Mayer's new structure, planned as a library; it served multiple functions over the subsequent decades, including as the City Archive and as a branch of the City Library. In 2013, the building has been home to the German Games Archive in Nuremberg.

Details

  • Title: The Pellerhaus as it looks today
  • Date Created: 2019
  • Location: Nuremberg
  • Type: Photo

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Recommended

Google apps