video game: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion


The Strong National Museum of Play

The Strong National Museum of Play
Rochester , United States

The Elder Scrolls games, primarily developed and distributed by Bethesda, are well-known for their vast open worlds in a fantasy setting. The games focus on player exploration rather than a rigid, scripted story. The series is known for having numerous side quests that almost always intrigue the player more than the main story. All of the games take place within the same world on the fictional continent of Tamriel on the world of Nirn, a fantasy world of magic, monsters, and its own complex history and lore. The Elder Scrolls is heavily influenced by classic tabletop role-playing games, with considerable character customization and skill-based character-building and leveling, as opposed to the typical experience point leveling system of many RPGs. The world of The Elder Scrolls is vast and rich, with players often dedicating hundreds of hours to one game.

Oblivion is the fourth game in the Elder Scrolls series, released in 2006 for PC, Xbox 360, and PlayStation 3. The game takes place in the province of Cyrodiil, with some quests taking players to the plane of Oblivion, from which the game derives its name. Oblivion has received numerous Game of the Year Awards, including the 2006 Ultimate Game of the Year at the Golden Joystick Awards, and had sold over 3.5 million copies by 2011. One full expansion was released for Oblivion, titled The Shivering Isles (2007).


Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps