Loading

Whampoa's earliest mud dock

Loan from Mr Anthony J Hardy1850

Hong Kong Maritime Museum

Hong Kong Maritime Museum
Hong Kong, Hong Kong

The ‘Mud Docks’ on Whampoa Island are immediately to the right of the ‘chopboat’, home to P&O’s manager of the Dockyard John Couper who with his wife are seen here on deck. It is recorded that Couper was abducted by the locals into a boat at the night of 20 December 1856, shortly after the Second Opium War broke out, and never to be seen. After the war, much of the dock area was destroyed and the new docks were constructed in Hong Kong under the name ‘Hongkong and Whampoa Dockyard’.

Details

  • Title: Whampoa's earliest mud dock
  • Creator: Loan from Mr Anthony J Hardy
  • Date Created: 1850

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps