Loading

Livery stable in Troy. Horses and men stand in front of the building. N. R. Shepherd & Stoops were managers, though some remembered Jones and Shepherd as owners. Around 1910 one could hire a horse or a car, and by 1919 space on the lot was rented to owners of cars. The structure stood empty in 1924. The building was used for basketball and at one time had a bowling alley. It was condemned by the city in May of 1928. The Troy firefighters set it on fire to practice firefighting skills. Later the site became the city park, then the post office. (History of Troy, Stella E. Johnson)

Details

  • Title: Wilken/Jones Livery Stable
  • Date Created: 1900
  • Location: Troy, ID
  • Subject Keywords: Stallion, Horses, Livery, Frame building, Troy, Idaho
  • Rights: Copyright, Latah County Historical Society Collections. All Rights reserved, contact the Latah County Historical Society for reproduction information.
  • LCHS Object ID: 15-03-030

Get the app

Explore museums and play with Art Transfer, Pocket Galleries, Art Selfie, and more

Flash this QR Code to get the app
Google apps